Two Cabins of the Pacific Northwest

in #photofeed6 years ago

The Pacific Northwest

This region is known for many things including it's landscapes, wildlife, and hiking among many others. This time of year though, it may be especially known for it's cool rainy weather. These factors, combined with it's forests and mountains help create a moody and mysterious atmosphere. I took a spring trip to the Olympic Pensinsula of Washington this week and got to witness incredible landscapes, wildlife, and of course an abudance of rain, fog, mist, and cloud cover. I have hardly gone through each of the photos I've taken, and others are sitting on rolls of film waiting to be sent to the lab. However, I'm excited enough about the trip, I wanted to share a couple photos with you right away.

Since creating my Steemit account, I have mostly been posting past photos that I've shared on Instagram or elsewhere before here. Today's photos however are first seen on Steemit! So, when these photos go viral after you all share them with your friends and family, you can truthfully say "I saw them first on Steemit!" 😁

IMG_4959.jpg

This first cabin is one you've likely seen dozens of times if you have followed any of the PNW crowd on Instagram in the past few years. The composition is by no means original with me, and I don't take credit for it. The building is the Storm King Ranger Station at Lake Crescent in the Olympic Peninsula. It's only open during summer months, so I wasn't able to go inside while I was here. From the front porch looking out you are presented with a fabulous view of Lake Crescent and the surrounding mountains. It's very accessible, and a must see if you are exploring the Peninsula.

IMG_5276.jpg

This second cabin is found south of the Lake Crescent on the road to the Hoh National Rainforest. It sits just outside of the park, and is well preserved along with a few other outbuildings on what looks like an old homestead location. The rustic appearance caught my eye, and I loved how the mountain peak in the background was jutting out of the fog, creating a perfect composition.


I hope you enjoyed these two photos. The similar colors and compositions worked well together, and I thought they deserved being shared in the same post. I'm looking forward to sharing more of the photos I took on this trip, and hope to share a few tips and insights on my trip including travel details, places to eat, and what to expect, if you'd take a similar trip. If you have taken a trip to the OP, I'd love to hear or see about it. If you've already blogged it, drop a link below and I'll take a look!

Thanks for reading,
Justin


Intro Post | Last Post (Summer | Sullivan Lake Washington) | Instagram
Thanks for all the comments and upvotes! I really do appreciate it. The first few months here, I am investing all rewards I earn back into Steem Power. As this account grows, I'm dedicated to rewarding quality content, and helping others discover content that will keep them coming back to this platform. I would love your continued support as I grow.
Sort:  

SE imaginan estar en esta cabaña y ver la película el conjuro? wow

Cabbins look super spooky!

Yes, and for me especially the one outside of the Hoh Rainforest. So neat to see in person. It was pouring rain as I took the photo as well.

Man, I'd love to go spend some time at either of those, they look amazing! Also, you're so right about the mountain in the second one, really adds to the composition.

I live so close and hadn't been to many of these places before. I finally just had to make it happen.

Nice. You really making me want to head to the Olympic Pensinsula!

It's so great! Although if it's raining you just have to embrace it. We hiked Cape Flattery and the Hoh Rainforest while it was raining. Proper gear, and the right attitude and it's amazing.

Nice. I have seen a few shots of Hoh . Looks cool. I am not scared of a bit of rain ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55262.33
ETH 2465.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18