Sort:  

Drawing not just from art, but from anything in life for inspiration definitely keeps things fresh, but my problem is capturing it. A huge issue for me is recognizing these moments and sitting down and channeling it into my own work. A lot of the time it just passes me by and later when the moment has passed and I'm trying to remember it and recapture it it just doesn't feel the same, like I'm missing the original feeling. This is great stuff.

I like this quote:

"...I've found nearly all of my emotional inspiration for my photography in anything but photography."

One reason your photography is so different to what other people are doing, I have no doubt!

I deal in a less conceptual realm of photography, where my subjects are what they are, and it's hard to project my own vision onto them with any clear story or theme. The best I can hope for with landscape photography is to convey a tangible feeling.

With my more creative photos I've wanted for a long time to draw more inspiration from external sources, but nothing I've made so far really shows this.

I did once directly copied a painting from Norman Rockwell - of course, there's no additional artistic merit in my photo, but it was a fun exercise nonetheless. ;)

santa by derek kind.jpg


Source

Omg, Derek, that's amazing! Hahaha.

As far as projecting your own vision in landscape photography, I've found that photographers typically have a vision they've developed in their mind, and then they respond to a scene that activates and reflects that vision they've developed by capturing it. Is this sort of how you work?

Hehe, thank you. It's fun trying to copy a painting like this, finding props and arranging them to be just right, or as close as is possible. ;)

Yes, I would agree with that assessment. I have ideas in my head about the kind of photos that I want to take, and how I will process them, and to some extent I mentally project those ideas on the scene in front of me. And definitely having a vision in mind already helps to distill order from the chaos of a scene and more quickly hone in on the best vantage points to make that vision come to life. Although I've never thought about it that way until you mentioned it.

Great post and upvoted! You had been introduced as one of the best 100 authors on steemit by @derekkind through my post challenge. Congratulations! from today I will be following your posts ,please accept me as your new friend!

upvoted&followed :)

Congratulations @johndykstra! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

I get a lot of my inspiration from Tarot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65