A Tree Paradise

in #photofeed6 years ago

Last year, we went on an impromptu Pilanesberg National Park camping weekend. Most people go there for wildlife photography but I am not geared for wildlife photography. My nature photography is normally landscapes.

On the way back, about 10 kilometres past the well known Sun City resort and gambling mecca, we passed a piece of undeveloped land on the right which is cleared for some reason, but all the larger thorn trees were left standing in this bare landscape (I think it will become some sort of new development as there are quite a number of these developments in the area).

By the time I realised what I saw, I already passed it and immediately made a U-turn to investigate it from close by. The fence was still visible but run down, so after I took one photo of a tree close to the fence, I noticed another beautiful scene a little further in - and decide to investigate it even closer... But each tree leads to another and soon I found myself running from tree to tree - really running - to capture this unique landscape. It is an absolute rare phenomenon to find these thorn trees without the typical undergrowth of grass and thorny shrubs. It was like being in paradise. It became a race against the setting sun as the infrared photos look their best in direct sunlight.

On the Friday before leaving for Pilansberg, I received my X-T1 back from Fujifilm after they converted it for me on special request to infrared. Like its forerunner - the X-E1 - it is now fitted with a 590nm infrared filter and will spend the rest of its life as an infrared camera.

The Saturday morning, I created a custom white balance using the new (barely visible) green leaves of one of the thorn trees in the campsite - one has to use whats available.

I took these photos using that custom white balance. No post-processing except for fixing skew horizons was done - correction, I had to lighten 2 photos and darken another to get the set to look reasonably the same as all the photos were not taken with the sun at the same angle towards the trees. The first photo was taken at 17:31 and the last photo was taken at 17:48. Sunset was at 17:59.

Why did I leave 11 minutes too early?

This is my entry in the weekly #landscapephotography challenge kindly created by @juliank

Sort:  

I am such a sucker for IR stuff man. Beautiful.

Stunning!
There's nothing wrong with having a few dedicated IR cameras laying around :)

Sold the X-E1 to afford the X-T1 conversion :( But what I know, I can never be without an infrared camera. This is my 4th one over the last 7 years! Currently starting to work out how to get an X-T2 converted as the X-T2's T value up to 15 minutes without a cable release would be great for my type of infrared photography.

Yes, but I also enjoy photographing with my normal camera with an infrared filter attached - getting longer exposures.

Very nice photographi.

Great infrared shots!!

Very interesting!
Resteemed!

Beautiful shots!

Wow, for me this reflects as an Red world and also reflecting as an place from Mars and not from Earth, and addon effect of these pictures are the way those trees are reflecting, means it's reflecting as planted these trees in distance from each other and they all are greeting each other from distance. Thanks for sharing these pieces. 🙂

Stay Blessed.

Very good IR photoshoot! Compliments! (;

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 22:40:27
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 469.34/800.00
Total Photos: 24
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

So amazing and so beautiful. Thank you for sharing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62401.16
ETH 3012.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55