Getting over your fears

in #photofeed7 years ago

IMG_9512.jpg

Getting over your fears is hard, but necessary. Trying new things. Learning new things. It keeps you fresh and motivated. You’ll often find that once you get over your fears, it leads to new adventures – and new opportunities.

IMG_9514.jpg

For example….I’m not one to turn down free breakfast. After all, it’s free breakfast. Someone brought in some overnight oats to our office, and I had never tried it before. My first thought was “eww, cold oats. That’s slimy and gross.” But I built up my courage and I got over my fears and had some.

IMG_9518.jpg

After 2 bites, I knew my instincts were correct. It is slimy and gross. Why would anyone eat this stuff?

Oats should be hot, with brown sugar and dried fruit (if you like that).

I did say getting over your fears ‘often’ leads to new opportunities and adventures. Sometimes it doesn’t and it leads to slimy cold oats. Live and learn.

What are you scared of? Did you get over it?

Oh yeah – here are some pictures of ice climbers. These ice climbers probably have no fears. I’m guessing they had none to begin with.


If you like the photo drop me an updoot or a comment!
If you want to see more make sure you follow @jfolkmann
Thanks!

Sort:  

Ha ha, nice post. Oats need to be warm. That's all I'm going to say about that.

That's all that needs to be said.

Funny, I was just having a conversation yesterday with my boyfriend about this particular topic.
After walking through a small forest on the island of Reunion, we finally arrived at the waterfall we had been searching for. There, at the top of a very steep drop, stood 2 boys getting ready to jump. I would say they were standing at least 10m above the surface of the water.
The first one seemed to have no problem getting over his fears, and even dove in head first! Had he done the jump before? Had he watched his friends do it a few times first? How had he convinced his mind and natural instincts to fight the thoughts of simply not wanting to die?

When it came to his friend's turn, it was a completely different story. The young boy stood at the edge of the big jump, his mind oscillating between jumping and running away, staring at the long way down. Everyone stood watching him and observing the struggle. A small movement to the edge as if he had conquered his fear and was ready, and a step back to safety - we stood watching him for at least 20 minutes. He never jumped. It was as though the more he thought of it, the more he tried to process the insanity of what he was about to do, the bigger the fear grew.
I couldn't help but think about how healthy it was to have these fears and how important it is for humans to experience these and push themselves to the limit at an early age.
Anyway, big ramble but I thought I'd share! Here is a photo of the first boy diving in and the following boys at the top waiting for their turn (hope you can see them):

Waterfall_edited.jpg

Jumping off waterwalls still makes me squirm. but I do it...and i'm glad when i'm done. Thanks for sharing!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 6.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.28
Server time: 00:17:16
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 541.54/800.00
Total Photos: 53
Total comments: 59
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Love love love this! Your pictures are great! And I’m just now realizing overnight oats are served cold... I always thought they were reheated! Hahah

Thank you. The overnight oats are yucky!

Good to know! I’ll continue not trying them!

Hey those ice climbers might be afraid of cold oats too!

If I was up there.....I'd want warm oats.

I'm not really "scared" of anything. Perhaps if there's a legitimate reason to be scared like a rabbit animal growling at you - that's a different story!

As a side note - my mom has a fear of turtles. Not quite sure why but she does. LOL

I've never heard of a fear of turtles before....unique for sure.

OMG, that is one of my fears... Being up there and I haven't got over that yet... Nice photos!

Ha ha. This made me laugh. Who actually likes cold oats!?

That looks like an awesome place to ice climb.

It's pretty fun. Little sketch when the ice starts falling though.

That would be my fear. As long as you're anchored to something solid, though, am I right?

Thought this was going to be about ice climbing... funny post!

None of my posts are really about the photos....at least I try not.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65