Doom and Gloom !

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

dantesinferno1.jpg

Plenty of doom and gloom in the crypto markets this past week! I have been out camping in the wilderness so missed most of the action. I thought this shot might sum up how people are feeling ! It is a close up shot of an eruption taken from the crater rim of Mt Yasur volcano on Tanna Island, Vanuatu. I purposely wobbled the camera on this shot to create some motion blur to give the magma more of a molten look. What do you think? It is a 6 second exposure at 19mm using a Canon 50D. It's quite the unnerving experience shooting erupting volcanoes as each of those blocks of magma is about the size of a refrigerator!

I have also reposted a shot below which you may have seen which gives you a wide angle view so you can appreciate how close we were to the action here. It is a 4 second exposure with a super wide 10mm lens. Imagine watching an explosion while experiencing an earthquake and listening to a sonic boom. Then as you stare numbly into space your trance is broken by the whistling noise of the magma falling from the sky with the hope it falls short of where you are standing.

I somehow left my tripod in my car at the airport before flying to Tanna island in Vanuatu. As a result both of these shots were taken using a improvised base made out of some volcanic rock and just sitting my camera on top of the rock pile at the crater rim.

EruptingVolcano.jpg

If you would like to learn a little bit more about my background in photography you can read the interview @photofeed did with me here

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

Wow dangerous but awesome, great photo my friend. I know I don't have the liver to get up close to a volcan hahA Thanks for sharing another wonderful post

Thanks. Appreciate the support.

Wow! That's so cool. Don't get too close!!

Ha. Thanks. It's a fine line between bravery and stupidity.

This is awesome man. Super cool shots of an active volcano, must've been quite the experience!

You some pretty dang cool places!

Please tell me you had something on the end of a stick to cook being that close :D

like all great photographer say 'you want a great shot, get closer!' in this case it might be pretty dangerous but boy o boy what a shot! well done

Thanks. It's an amazing thing to witness if you ever get the chance.

Epic shots man. Volcanoes are incredible to watch. I had a chance to be 500 meters from the crater of the Volcan de Fuego that just had a massive eruption in Guatemala. It was one of my best experiences for sure as it was having mini eruptions every 20 minutes or so.

Wow that must have been cool to see the Volcan de Fuego.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79