Great Bear Rainforest

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

We just spent the weekend out stalking wild grizzlies in the Great Bear Rainforest for my eldest sons 5th birthday. Amazing to see these guys swimming to catch and eat salmon.

Once you see them up close you start to think that an 800mm lens might be a better alternative to halving the distance between the bear and your 400mm lens ! Tweedsmuir South Provincial Park, British Columbia, Canada . Click on the shot to see a larger version.

TweedsmuirBear.jpg

Shot late in the day at ISO 2500, 1/160 and f/5.6 with the Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM at 400mm on a Canon 6D II.

If you would like to learn a little bit more about my background in photography you can read the interview @photofeed did with me here

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

A fast look through your blog shows me you are an incredible photographer! Why have I not come across your blog before!?

I have been hiding here on the blockchain lol

What a coincidence, so have I!

Have been in lockdown with HF20! So now we are in forced hiding .

Magnificent all your photos!

Thanks . Appreciate you having a look.

Very nice shot! How large was the bear?

Resteemed

Quite a large bear . Perhaps 400kg?

om nom nom (hopefully not on you)

I also quick-read your title as "Great Barrier Reef".

;-). Have they stopped killing sharks yet ? It’s an embarrassment .

Well we did make it home with the same number of kids that we left with ;-)

I come to your page to see outstanding photographs enough! congrats dear!

Thanks as always ;-)

Happy 5th birthday Junior Intrepid! What an awesome way to spend a birthday XD

He had a great day.

Did you see much damage in Tweedsmuir park due to the wildfires that burned there this summer?

No we were in Tweedsmuir south and as far as I am aware the fires were mostly in Tweesamuir north.

Oh my God. I would want to be at least a mile away....

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ha. They are not as cranky as the media makes them out to be.

Yeah... I made the mistake of watching the movie The Edge a few years ago....

Posted using Partiko iOS

I will have to check it out. But one could say the same after watching The Revenant!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64144.95
ETH 3509.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55