Background Lighting Procedure - Light Painting

in #photofeed4 years ago

How each lighting effect builds up to a final Light Painting Image.

2020_02_07_Blankensee (2)-LR-2.jpg
Image 1

At first I started to light up the walls of the little chapel ruin to see how much time I will have and see what's the best angle to shine the light to get some nice texture of the wall.

2020_02_07_Blankensee (3)-LR-2.jpg
Image 2

After I confirmed that, yes there is enough time I would go and test if I can add the Light Plants to the wall. That added a few seconds to the exposure, yet it did not overexpose the image in any way. So yes there is more room for additional light features.
2020_02_07_Blankensee (9)-LR-2.jpg
Image 3

Then I would repeat the same procedure, but on top of that I also go behind the chapel and shed light into the forest. Comparing the different effects I can then decide more on my composition. What works and what I better do not. Not always more is better. Sometimes I would end up liking the early stage lighting the most. But hey I can do that when I come home.

2020_02_07_Blankensee (10)-LR-2.jpg
Image 4

So after you have seen all the stages. What is your favorite? Number 1? 2 ...3 ...4?

I hope it was informative and maybe also inspirational. If you have more questions please do not hesitate. I am happy to share my knowledge.

Glad you found your way to my feed to enjoy my art work.
For more of this kind of art look for my personal pages:

Gunnar Heilmann Photogrpahy

My Website My YouTube channel My Facebook Page My Instagram Feed

Since iam one of the cofounders of the LightPainters project, i also help and support the Light Painting community as a curator - not only on Steem.

We are Light Painters

Sort:  

Hi, @gunnarheilmann,

This post has been voted on by the @ecosynthesizer curation team.

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.


Interested in supporting our project?
Please consider voting for our Witness, @symbionts, or delegating SP to the @ecosynthesizer.
Click here if you want to know more about the project, and feel free to join our Discord server.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64