Promoting ancestral homes as promised

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180625_163825.jpg

Hi folks,

On my last leg in Camiguin I was supposed to go for an island hopping which the province is best known for.But thanks to tropical depression Domeng all schedules were cancelled and I was stuck with a cable tv for the entire day.Since I am no couch potato I opted to take myself ona tour by foot. So here you see pictures I took while strolling.

IMG_20180625_164003.jpg

Some.FYI here.The first house used to be the residence of the first geologist of the province.In fact ,it was the headquarter of what is Philvocs now in the region.As I listened to the struggles of the niece of the original owner I am saddened that despite its historical importance it will soon succomb to road widening unless a miracle happens.As promised ,I am promoting her place so that it will be protected by the region if not the government for its historical value.In its confines youd see familia memorabilia which makes you think in this life nothing is really without its roots.IMG_20180625_164102.jpg
Whenever I travel places rundown by time like this always excites me for their resilency standing firm inspitw of all the upheavals which they witnessed.Its sad that most of the ancestral houses I have been either were sold out to become commercial places by kins who care less of their family history.IMG_20180625_154838.jpg
Moving further along,I pass by this old Spanish style home converted to an commercial space.Looking at it reminds me of my trip to Vigan.I hope Camiguin will follow her path in making use of the building yet staying true to its old glory.A little white repainting to make wouldnt hurt I guess in this case .
IMG_20180625_155254.jpg

Because I was hungry I stopped by to grab some"pandesal "or white bread.To.my delight,I saw a cute cat on a windown pew.I was so mezmerized by the sight of it against the facade of a beautiful home.I cant help wonder what becomes of old homes dearly loved before once the original owners die.I was thinking while most countries would make hotels , inns or restaurant out of them many of these old homes I had been too gather dust because their owners would not want public to view them,or the entrances are tok pricey or worst even of free only few of us had a liking for such.IMG_20180625_155524.jpg
Before I decided to go back to my resort I decided to say a prayer for those owners of these homes that they never give up on what their family has left them for legacy.I prayed I be given good health too to blog more about interesting places worn out by time yet continue to inspire photographers ,musicians ,poets for their beauty that time never seemto dampen

Here is the video in case youre interested

Anyhow ,my trip wasnt really extensive as I wish it was .But in my short walk I had spoken with the local and get a glimpse of issues that bothers them.Indeed its true,when you travell you never find in you the same person.So as promised I am blogging about this in hopes someone would be able to actuallu do something to preserve this precious token of a century that was.

Till next post,
AynIMG_20180624_141040.jpg

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

nice one i like it thanks for sharing
follow me please

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

20 SBD Up For Grabs in the TF Cup! - learn more about the contest here 👈

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63235.53
ETH 2558.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63