You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Analog Holistic Photographer, Part 03: Colour Film Developement on the road on a hot day

in #photofeed7 years ago

Such an interesting post again @captainklaus. I'm not a photographer but I love to read about how you create your prints.

That little drum is genius. But didn't you show pictures the other day of your bus draped in black cloth in order to create a dark room? What makes you decide which method to use?

Sort:  

Thanks @gillianpearce, I am glad it's not a nerds-only read ☺

There are two moments when I need darkness:

  • When I make a print: For this I project the negative on the light sensitive paper. That moment (exposure) the paper is kind of out in the open. That's when I need a dark room.
  • When developing film: I use a 'dark bag' to put the films into the drum. It's a light proof bag with two sleeves to put my arms in. This is just enough space to move the films from the camera/holders into the drum.
    Maybe this will shed some more light on the concept:
    After projecting the negative on the paper, I use an automatic processor to develop the print. But I could also put the paper into this drum and develop it there...

Now I'm clear. When I was writing my comment there was a little voice at the back of my mind saying they were 2 different processes. Of course! Duh!

If I'd gone back to the other post I would have seen that of course.

Never hurts to have it so clearly explained though. Hopefully other "non-photo-nerds" reading will benefit too! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62269.38
ETH 2424.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58