Sort:  

thanks for the nice post.... ☺

So interesting to see the process

It is really strange and exciting to do this on the road!

I was thinking that as I read your post, doing it in a house or as I remember doing it in a school lab when I was younger was cool, but doing in in a bus just where you took the shot, is so different and yes I would imagine exciting

The young people must get quite a kick from this process.

If they know what film is...
Or maybe the smell of the chemistry is intriguing enough ☺

that is a really unique way of developing photos.

and it is beautifully anarchistic!

Such an interesting post again @captainklaus. I'm not a photographer but I love to read about how you create your prints.

That little drum is genius. But didn't you show pictures the other day of your bus draped in black cloth in order to create a dark room? What makes you decide which method to use?

Thanks @gillianpearce, I am glad it's not a nerds-only read ☺

There are two moments when I need darkness:

  • When I make a print: For this I project the negative on the light sensitive paper. That moment (exposure) the paper is kind of out in the open. That's when I need a dark room.
  • When developing film: I use a 'dark bag' to put the films into the drum. It's a light proof bag with two sleeves to put my arms in. This is just enough space to move the films from the camera/holders into the drum.
    Maybe this will shed some more light on the concept:
    After projecting the negative on the paper, I use an automatic processor to develop the print. But I could also put the paper into this drum and develop it there...

Now I'm clear. When I was writing my comment there was a little voice at the back of my mind saying they were 2 different processes. Of course! Duh!

If I'd gone back to the other post I would have seen that of course.

Never hurts to have it so clearly explained though. Hopefully other "non-photo-nerds" reading will benefit too! 😊

What is interesting about this revelation process? I do not stop impressing myself as chemistry is everywhere, that's why I love her. I loved this @captainklaus

I like photography very much, although I do not have the resources I do it with my phone, I enjoy it in the same way. @captainklaus

This reminds me so much of looking at the negative slides that my father kept from when he did photography. When I was very young he worked for a rural newspaper and he did some freelance photo shoots at special events. It brings back such wonderful memories!

This is amazing, I vaguely remember making pin hole cameras when I was a school. This is something else though - real photography on the road!
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

This is so cool, I have always wondered how it works. must be great doing this on the road!

It is great indeed. And it so contradicts the 'perfectionist' idea that is at the center of photography, I love it!

Would I ever have known how to do this, if not for your post!

Brings back memories of the old days - my favorite days with my old camera! Even then, I never developed the photos myself and neither did I have any idea on how to go about it. You make it look so easy, and I wonder what had stopped me from doing it myself.

Analog photography used to be ruled by a dogma of prefectionism. If you ignore that, and accept a bit of organic chaos, the processes can become very playful!
I like both: On the road a bit of grunge, and a perfect clinical lab at home ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62221.65
ETH 2424.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55