SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry – Waterfall – Haiku

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

Second Entry – Long Exposure


Mountain Waterfall ...


Was it in Scotland?
Or the North Georgia Mountains?
Looks like spun sugar


Thanks to @jamtaylor for this week's contest Long Exposure You can read the rules here.


I photographed this digital image 16 years ago using my first digital camera I (I can't even remember where) – the Canon EOS D30 DSLR! Everyone said I was crazy back then when I sold my large format Sinar and my medium format Hasselblad to buy a “toy camera.” I kept my 35mm for shooting film then though, as I used the D30 more for my own pleasure. It was considered a camera for the high-end enthusiast photographer! I also purchased the Canon EOS-1D, which was Canon's first DSLR aimed at professionals!

They said it was a fad that would not last. Whoever thought that one day I would even be using a smartphone for some professional work? I certainly could not have envisioned that!

The external drives holding most of my shots from that era are in a box somewhere. I have no idea how this one happened to "escape" and end up on one of the external hard-drives attached to my computer! So, what do you think? Do you think it was just a toy? Do you think that this long exposure shot from 16 years ago using Canon's first digital DSLR has a chance of winning a contest in 2018?


mountain waterfall.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.
Click on the image to view full screen!


CameraCanon EOS D30
LensEF28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Exposure0.7 sec; f/27; ISO 100
Post-processingAdobe Photoshop® CC 2017, Adobe Camera Raw


Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it. Please check out my photography-101 account here for photography tips and tutorials and Follow if you wish.

#TheAlliance is a community of people from all backgrounds dedicated to producing and supporting work on Steemit. Check us out! You can find us on the Discord Channel.


#Steemusa is a community of people from the United States or those living there dedicated to producing and supporting work on Steemit. You can find us on the Discord Channel.dmcamera steemusa banner.png


#TeamCanada is a community of people from Canada or those living there dedicated to producing and supporting work on Steemit. You can find us on the Discord Channel.
TEAMCANADA-SIGN - smallest-2.png
ukbritsdiscord.png


Sort:  

In the hands of a skilled photographer with a good eye, practically any camera could produce a pleasing result. Haven’t you taught us not to be equipment snobs? ;-D

Yes! The camera is just a tool! I was amazed when I opened the file and saw that it was larger than needed for web use - and that from an 18 year old DSLR! I downsized it to the usual size I make my pics for Steemit!

Wow @dmcamera you are very great photographer and this is interesting place. I like it.

Thanks. I appreciate your kind words.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 19 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Flowing cotton candy for sure. Magical shot, Diane:)

Thanks. :-) I appreciate your kind words.

Amazing! great shot

Thanks and thanks for stopping by!

This is such a Beautiful and calming image

Tip!

Thank you kind sir, and thanks for the tip. :-)

Absolutely gorgeous! <3

Thanks. Much appreciated!

This is not only a beautiful picture, but a very good shot.
Its not just the camera it's mostly the person behind the lens. I know i have used these words before but it's what your capturing inside that square, where you're standing and allowing the different colours and textures of the trees to contrast the beautiful waterfall without stealing the show.
I am knew to photography and only started to really get interested in October 2017 becuase I was using the photos for home schooling and wanted my curriculum lay out to look good. Because I was studying the subject matter so deeply and have a huge respect and love for nature. (Subject) my intensity grew to portray what I was looking at as amazing, and to do it through my eyes and give it the credit it deserves. (Day and night I have been taking photos.)
I had never done this with my photos ever before.
Now I want to learn how to understand and use different tools to diversify.
By looking at your picture and others I'm learning.
Thank you for sharing. ( yes addiction has gripped me)

Thanks for your thoughtful comment, and i wish you all the best on your photo journey! you won't be disappointed, I'm sure! :-)

Nice shot, really impressive for a "toy camera" ;)

I must admit I was a bit surprised when I looked at the metadata and saw which camera I had used! LOL!

wow this is so pro. AMAZING. you are very talented. great picture

Glad you like it. Thanks for dropping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01