Monarch Butterfly Chrysalis

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

Update On The Rescued Monarch Caterpillar


You may remember that a month ago, I found a monarch caterpillar in my yard, despite the fact that it was January, and a colder than average one at that. Here is a link to that post, if you have not read about it.

Some of you have been asking how the chrysalis has been doing , but until now there has been nothing much to report. Normally this stage in warmer weather takes only about 2 weeks, but I knew that the chrysalis stage would last longer because the of the cooler weather. When the temperatures here in North Florida dipped to the thirties and forties at night, I would bring it indoors and keep it indoors during the day on the colder days too.

Now an exciting change has happened! The chrysalis has become almost transparent. Can you pick out the monarch butterfly wings and the markings on them? In the summer, this stage would be only a day, but with the cooler temperature, it may be a few days before the butterfly emerges, I think. I'll be watching closely, though!


monarch butterfly chrysalis.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.
Click on the image to view full screen!

CameraCanon EOS 5D Mark II
LensEF100mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Exposure1/20 sec; f/16; ISO 800
Post-processingAdobe Photoshop® CC 2017, Adobe Camera Raw

In preparation for the butterfly's emergence, I purchased a few pots of flowers that attract butterflies and placed the peetunias in the butterfly tent, so that if the butterfly appears when I am not around, there will be nectar available! I will update you when there is more news!
petunias.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus - Petunias
Click on the image to view full screen!


lobularia.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus - Lobularia
Click on the image to view full screen!


dianthus.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus - Dianthus
Click on the image to view full screen!




Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it. Please check out my photography-101 account here: https://steemit.com/@photography-101 and Follow if you wish.



#TheAlliance is a community of people from all backgrounds dedicated to producing and supporting work on Steemit. Check us out! You can find us on the Discord Channel.

#Steemusa is a community of people from the United States or those living there dedicated to producing and supporting work on Steemit. You can find us on the Discord Channel.dmcamera steemusa banner.png


#TeamCanada is a community of people from Canada or those living there dedicated to producing and supporting work on Steemit. You can find us on the Discord Channel.
TEAMCANADA-SIGN - smallest-2.png


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 8 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Nice ! How do you like canon 5D mark II?

I've had it for years now, and have loved it since the beginning. Are you thinking about getting one?

Yeah i might ! But how is it for videos? Because i do both

Excellent for videos, but you need an external mike for quality sound. I don't shoot videos, but I know it has been used in some Hollywood productions!

great ! Thanks for the answer :)

Oooo... I can't wait to see it turn into a butterfly. Please keep us posted!!!

I sure will!

Thanks for the update. I was wondering what happened.

I'm wondering if I will have a butterfly in the morning, or if it will be a few more days yet! I can't wait to find out if it's a male or a female. They have different wing markings.

You are very kind. :-)

Aw, thanks! I do my best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60291.00
ETH 2583.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55