Monarch Butterfly

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

IT'S A GIRL!


She came out of the chrysalis in the night and I found her on the floor of the butterfly tent struggling to straighten out and dry her wings. She still seems to be having a hard time getting her wings straightened out, but appears to be getting stronger.


monarch profile.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus
Click on the image to view full screen!


So, how do I know that she is a female? She has thicker wing veins than her male counterpart, and the male has a black spot on the upper side of each lower wing, absent in the female.


monarch drying wings.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus
Click on the image to view full screen!


Hopefully she will manage to straighten out her wings enough to fly, but in the meantime she is safe from predators while still in the butterfly tent !

If you have not been following the story of my rescued caterpillar, you can read about it here and here.



Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it. Please check out my photography-101 account here and Follow if you wish. Tutorials and tips will be coming soon!

#TheAlliance is a community of people from all backgrounds dedicated to producing and supporting work on Steemit. Check us out! You can find us on the Discord Channel.


#Steemusa is a community of people from the United States or those living there dedicated to producing and supporting work on Steemit. You can find us on the Discord Channel.dmcamera steemusa banner.png


#TeamCanada is a community of people from Canada or those living there dedicated to producing and supporting work on Steemit. You can find us on the Discord Channel.
TEAMCANADA-SIGN - smallest-2.png


Sort:  

Beautiful!

Thanks! I'm still hoping she can survive, but not sure about it now.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 9 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Well done, mother nature's helper. A beautiful new life is born.

I'm worried about her, as I think she may have given up the struggle to straighten and dry her wings. She's hardly moving now. :-(

There re lots of web sites that may be of help. Here's one.

http://www.monarchwatch.org/rear/index.htm

She's still hanging in there today. I had checked quite a few online sites, but had not seen that one. Thanks!

omg you captured it so well. Beautiful picture

Sooo beautiful! That must have been really cool to see her coming out :) I remember as a kid always looking for that kind of thing.

Yes, it was! I just hope that her wings will strengthen and straighten.

Butterflies are very beautiful, you are lucky to see the process of becoming a beautiful butterfly @dmcamera😊

Yes, it's good to see, but sad when it doesn't work out. I'm not sure now that she will survive.

Rest assured he will survive to adapt to his own environment😊

I'm so happy you answered my question! Before I started scrolling down, I thought, "How does she know it's a girl?" I learned something new today. Congrats and well done in rescuing and saving the caterpillar turned butterfly!

Glad you found the answer. Lol! So far, so good! At least the temperatures here in Florida have warmed up and there should be some flowers around for nectar too.

Yeah! Great work. Now you can add butterfly mama to your resume :-D

just beautiful! So nice of you helping her! Thanks

I did my best, but it was not meant to be. I will write tomorrow about what happened. :-(

Last night I thought she had died, as there seemed to be no movement from her whatsoever. But I was wrong!

She is really beautiful, butterflies are so important for pollination.
Fortunately, there are people like you to save them!
Thank you

I tried, but she didn't make it. That's a story for tomorrow. ;-(

I spoke too soon. She is still alive and fighting!

Ah happy ! Great
I hope she stay ok .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60716.93
ETH 2594.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55