Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville - Grand Turk

in #photofeed7 years ago (edited)


Margaritaville, Grand Turk, British West Indies

Marguaritaville.jpgImage © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

This is my first post using @juliank's template for posting images! I modified it to suit my needs, as he suggested. Thanks @juliank! I wondered how he made his images show full screen! I do downsize my original images considerably for the web, so that should be a good test for me to see what they look like at full screen size at 72dpi.

CameraCanon EOS 5D Mark II
Settings1/400 sec; f/22; ISO 800
LensEF50mm f/1.4 USM
LocationGrand Turk, British West Indies
Post-processingAdobe® Photoshop and Adobe® Camera Raw


divider.png


Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it. Please check out my photography-101 account here: https://steemit.com/@photography-101 and Follow if you wish.


TEAMCANADA-SIGN - smallest.png

dmcamera steemusa banner.png

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #colourfulphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Friday.

You have earned 5.90 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.18
Server time: 20:19:30
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 140.00/200.00
Total Photos: 14
Total comments: 63
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I've never been to the British West Indies but this picture makes me want to go!

We are spoiled living in Florida, because we can hop on a cruise ship to take us wherever we want in the Caribbean! We are going to step out of the box this summer though, and head for Alaska instead!

Sounds like an excellent adventure

I've always wanted to go to Alaska and hear nothing but good things from those who have taken a cruise there!

I think the format will work good

Thanks! I finally got the image to enlarge!

Fantastic post! I have just resteemed it to help with the promotion 👍 have a great Monday 😆

I do not understand anything in professional cameras📸, I use Iphone 🙈, but the photo is worthy of respect! I love))

Great colorful fun shot makes one feel warm

I am always at a dilemma what size to upload to the web for social sites I used to go quite small with watermark but not changing to slightly larger and dropping the watermark as it dies distract from the photo

Oops! I left the text in there, but couldn't get the image to enlarge to full screen. I'm misunderstanding something in the code!I'll have to work on it. Computer screen viewing is always 72dpi, so anything more is just giving away large images for someone to make prints of and sell on eBay! LOL! Sure they can take the 72dpi ones too, but they can't be enlarged much for print. This image is 27x18 at 72dpi, but's just 6x4 at 300dpi. It wouldn't make a nice wall size print. LOL! I never think that watermarks distract from a photo. (Umless of course it covers the entire image. LOL) It's like saying that an artist's signature distracts from the art. :-)

for the web I have been using 72dpi but restricting pixel length on longest side to about 1k or less now going a little bigger but still 72dpi

As for watermark I am just thinking that through but leaning to stop using it

As for allowing the click for larger size this post explains it well

https://steemit.com/steemit/@captainklaus/click-to-enlarge-photo-simple-code

Thanks! I made it work by going back to his template code. I had just missed out something.

Would you eliminate a watermark totally? I wouldn't do that for Steemit myself, because most of the images with no watermarks are web grabs. The watermark, no matter how small makes your work immediately stand out as original work. :-)

That’s a good point I may go for a subtle small watermark in the corner just pondering what to do at the moment.

That's all I do. It can easily be removed, but that's not the point. you're just emphasizing that it's yours!

Yes a very good point indeed

Awesome! I really enjoyed Margaritaville Grand Turk - specifically the margarita that came in the blender, which now serves as a piggy bank -when we stopped there on the Carnival Cruise I took. I also liked the giant chess board :D Thanks for sharing this photo with us, @dmcamera.
Mo

We were on a Carnival cruise too. LOL. I just shopped and enjoyed the free wifi. I didn't have a margarita that time.

Good choice for contest.

Plenty of color anyway. Lol!

Wastin' away! Glad you got the full screen code figured out, too.

I debated about doing it, but for photography, it helps to see the detail. If images start getting swiped, I may change my mind. LOL!

Thank you for using the family tag! This post was chosen to be featured in the latest issue of 'Notes'. Do stop in and see what some of your other allies are up to & keep Steeming on! #thealliance pagebreak.png

Thanks! I appreciate that. I will stop by now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54