Cechuv Bridge - Čechův most - Prague - Original Photography

in #photofeed7 years ago


WOMAN TORCHBEARER, CECHUV BRIDGE,(Čechův most) PRAGUE, CZECH REPUBLIC

Taking a boat ride on the Vltava River lets you see Prague from a different perspective. This statue would not have been be so visible from the bridge looking down, so I was thrilled to see it from the boat and capture this shot!

cechuv bridge prague.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

CameraCanon EOS 5D
LensEF28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Settings1/160 sec; f/7.1; ISO 320
LocationPrague, Czech Republic
Post-processingAdobe® Photoshop, Adobe® Camera Raw, Nik Collection Silver Efex Pro 2

divider.png

Thanks to @juliank for the travelphotography contest, rules here, and thanks to @tattoodjay of the #bridgesoftheworld challenge!


divider.png


Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it. Please check out my photography-101 account here: https://steemit.com/@photography-101 and Follow if you wish.

Sort:  

Very nicephotofeed travelphotography photography bridgesoftheworld thealliance post

now that is such a classy and stylish bridge thanks for adding to the bridges of the world tag

It is rather interesting, isn’t it. I like the bridgesoftheworld tag!

It’s really interesting and your making a great start to the Tags success thanks for that

I will do what I can. It’s a good one because there isn’t the pressure to do it daily or anything. When I’m looking at images to upload, it helps with the decision sometimes!

Yes I am slowly moving away from many of the daily challenges or contests
And maybe bing more to just posting what the most d hits me

I know what you mean. Challenges are a great way to get started, but when you are a bit more established, it takes up too much time that can be used in posting what you really fancy!

A little of that but it’s more being admin in a couple of groups I find time to spend finding shots for a particular challenge takes more time

I am trying to get a good balance

Balance is good! I too am trying to fine tune it! We can't be everywhere a once. lol!

What a rare find. Most people would not have seen this, since it is below street level. Great photo.

Thanks. I appreciate your feedback!

I am sure they don't make fancy bridges like that any more.

The cost would be prohibitive, I’m sure!

She is an absolute beauty. I am so glad you are so well traveled. I am well traveled with no real pictures.

Well, being a stock photographer, travel for me has always been important, although my trips to the Czech Republic were primarily to teach English at a summer camp. A church in the Eagle Mountains area set up the camp each summer, and appealed to our church in the USA for teachers! I made some great friends through it!

That is so awesome. I have so many friends that have lived different places teaching English. What great stories they have to tell!

I did it for 3 summers. I got such an insight into what the Czech people suffered under Hitler and then under communism. My "best friend" at the camp passed away this year at 95, but I shared a cabin with her on the last trip and she shared all about her experiences in Prague during such terrible oppression!

I know. I have relatives that were living in Lublin. Poland at that time and some in Krakow. To hear the stories are bone chilling. Even today, I talk to people that lived under communism and it still gives me chills. My cousins lived in Prague and in Bratislava during this time and one escaped the border and his family was punished. (his brother was a concert pianist and was not allowed out of the country ever again) until the wall fell.

We have no idea how lucky we were.

Wow! The first hand stories need to be kept alive! My second teaching job was at a school near London. One of my pupils told me about how she and her family escaped from Czechoslovakia, just after the communists invaded Prague - just the year before! She was a child of 6, but it was so fresh in her mind. I wonder where she is now!

I love city boat tours for that reason. You get such a different perspective. Wonderful image!

Thanks. I love them too, and try to fit them in wherever I go! It’s been a while since I did one, though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50