Trying something a little different in wedding photography

in #photofeed6 years ago

From the very beginning of our careers as wedding photographers, Sabrina and I decided that we were going to do it our own way. To be honest, we were never fans of wedding photography. It has a tendency to be cheesy, fluffy, silly, light, overexposed, happy, airy stuff, that we just never really liked.

I've never been that type of person, nor indeed that type of photographer. It's not that I don't like light, happy, airy stuff, it's just that I am naturally more attracted to the dark, the dramatic, the moody. So when we started as wedding photographers, we weren't sure if we would actually be able to make it work.

Well from the get go we made the type of wedding photos that we thought were cool, and as it turns out there are quite a lot of people out there who feel the same way as we do. Enough so that we were able to make a full time job out of doing darker, edgier, more dramatic wedding photography.

It's great to start out this way because when you show your clients a certain type of work, that is the type of look that they are going to hire you for. If you only show the type of photography that you like, and that you want to take, you are naturally going to attract clients who are looking for that type of work. It's a win win because you end up getting paid to take the type of photos that you love to take anyways, and your clients are getting the type of photos that they wanted.

Because we have done this from the beginning of our professional photography careers, it's not hard or scary for us to try something radically different now and then.

I was editing this series of photos today and I just thought it would look kinda cool to frame these two into some kind of window. I got bored with just editing the same old grand, wide angle beach photo, so I went a little crazy with the gradients, and decided, hey why not go the opposite direction of what I normally do, which is go really bright instead of dramatically dark?

Europe Artistic Wedding Photographer - Dallas & Sabrina-1.jpg

Well I think it looks cool, but I'd love to hear what you think about it, let me know in the comments!

This photo was taken with a Nikon D750 camera and Sigma 24mm f1.4ART lens. Exposure was 1/1250 @ f1.4, ISO 200. The RAW image was edited by me using Adobe Lightroom 5.5 with a custom preset made by myself and tweaked for this photo. I used graduated filters on each side to create the pyramid shape, and used a radial filter on the subjects in the center to bring them out a little more.

I post photos, follow me @dexter-k on Steemit to see more.

You can also see our professional photography work if you want to by heading over to our website dallaskphoto.com and dallaskolotylo.com.

Remember to stay alive, and find the beauty

Dexter

Sort:  

Nice to see another wedding photographer on Steem! We felt the same as you guys when we set up (me and my husband @skiesandsports) we didn't want to train under anyone and just approached it in our own way! Love this shot and look forward to seeing more!

Thanks @vtravels, it really is the best way to go! I'm stoked to see another wedding photographer here on Steemit as well, it's great to see you two are in the UK too. My wife and I just recently moved to Barcelona :) Do you two shoot only in the UK or all around Europe?

Awww awesome! We actually shoot all over the World, we have done weddings in Singapore, Dubai and a few in Europe too, but we decided last year to keep it local as we did too much travelling last year!! How about you guys?

Totally glued dexter. Following you for regular updates

Hey thanks so much @thenomadictales, you've got some incredible stuff up on your blog as well, I've always wanted to travel in India so maybe I'll live a little through you ;) Followed you back, looking forward to seeing more of your travels!

Thanks a lot. All the way more reasons to post here regularly 😀

A mix of art and reportage photography blended perfectly!

I like it!!!! That is a different one!!!!! And I want to accept that change
-cheers-

Thank you, glad you like it!

Now i really liked that different ideas always cool to implement new ideas this is so cool :)

Thanks @blazing, I like doing different things :)

Woww.that's amazing.you did amazing job.this cube looks more beautiful in black and white

Thank you :) Why no vote then?

Glad you like it, sad you don't like it enough to upvote :(

You got a 2.29% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @dexter-k!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

This post has received gratitude of 2.35 % from @appreciator thanks to: @dexter-k.

Very cool wedding photos and always happy with people you love very much @dexter Successful greetings always 👍👍👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59467.52
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38