#photofeed - The best tag for photographers on Steemit

in #photofeed7 years ago

So you may or may not have heard recently that the fantastic original Steemian @cryptoctopus has launched an amazing initiative to promote photography here on Steemit called Photofeed. It is just in its infancy right now, as in about three days old, but it has already seen huge support and potential!

The goal of Photofeed is to promote beautiful photography on Steemit, and to start to differentiate between the absolute deluge of photographs that get posted under the photography tag here on steemit, and work that is truly about photography.

The problem, that has been a problem here on Steemit for quite some time, is that ANY photo is technically applicable under the photography tag. But just because someone has snapped a quick shot with their 2005 Nokia camera phone, that doesn't necessarily mean that it is the type of photography one would be looking for in the "Photography" tag. The tag is much to broad and much too vague, so @cryptoctopus is starting to define it, or at least try to.

With Communities coming to the platform some time this year, this problem is going to start to get fixed, but why not get a head start as well right?

So what do you have to do to participate?

Well, all you really have to do is to take amazing photos, and then post them to Steemit using the tag #photofeed. From what I understand @cryptoctopus, @aweber, @yumyumseth and @jrue will be the curators/moderators of the project, and they have outlined what they will doing as follows:

"Here's what you can expect to see on a regular basis from PhotoFeed:

1. Up to 5 resteems every day showing off and rewarding the top content posted to #photofeed.
2. A daily wrap up post highlighting and rewarding the 3 best photos from the previous day.
3. 1 weekly post to congratulate our favorite photo of the week.

For all of these posts we will be paying out one half of the of the earned SBD to the featured photographers. The rest of the earnings will go to increase the rewards for future votes."

You can read the full story on @photofeed's post by clicking here.

The other thing you can do to support the Photofeed project is to go sign up for SteemAuto and follow @photofeed's curation trail. That way whenever @photofeed votes for a photo, you will automatically vote for it as well. And you know that the photos that @photofeed picks are going to be great work, worthy of your support. I have signed up for SteemAuto myself and followed @photofeed's curation trail, because I think this is a project that is going to have a great impact for photographers on Steemit, and I really want to promote and encourage Steemit as a way for talented photographers to show and benefit from their hard work.

So that's it folks! Go and start posting your amazing photography and tag it with #photofeed! @cryptoctopus himself is supporting the project with his (eye wideningly, grin inducingly powerful) upvotes, and you have the chance to get your work featured on the daily roundup, as well as much support from the rapidly growing Photofeed community.

And since I want to be part of this wave as well, here's a little shot for #photofeed that I took during a wedding portrait session about two years ago in California.

This is actually a composition of 12 photographs which were each taken individually and then assembled and edited in Adobe Photoshop. The photographs were taken using a Nikon D3S camera and Nikkor 85mm f1.8G lens. Each photo was taken with the same exposure and settings, 1/1000 shutter speed @ f1.8 and 200ISO. The photos were stitched together in Photoshop and the final single photo was custom edited by myself.

European wedding photographer - Dallas & Sabrina - 1.jpg

Tomorrow (or maybe later today) I'll probably post a few more photos from this wedding, because they are a beautiful couple and I have always loved the photos, but also because I would like to show a comparison between a single shot using that same camera, lens and exposure combo, and the difference of doing the composited shot.

As always if you enjoyed this post feel free to drop one of those sweet, precious, juicy upvotes on me! And be sure to follow me @dexter-k on Steemit to keep up with all of our travels and see new original content every day.

You can also see our professional photography work if you want to by heading over to our website dallaskphoto.com and dallaskolotylo.com.

Thanks for reading!

Dexter

Sort:  

Thanks for the support, and that's an awesome shot! We just resteemed you!

Hey thanks so much, I really appreciate it :) you guys are doing an amazing thing for the photography community here on steemit and I am fully stoked about it. Thanks for starting this, can’t wait to see it grow!

Thanks for spreading the word of photofeed, looking like an great project with future aspect. And you have great talent, it reflects in your work both with camera and photo shop. Thanks for sharing.

Have a great day and stay blessed.

Thank you so much @chireerocks, glad to help, and glad you like the photo!

You're welcome. ☺️

Thanks for the heads up and info! I will incorporate the tag in my next photo. Happy Friday!

Yes! Your photos are exactly what Photofeed is looking for, you will do well there for sure :)

Thanks a million for your positive comment! I hope to be a positive contribution.

Nice sum up ! I hope this tag #photofeed will work better than #photography, because I have some difficulties to start Xd great post !

Yeah it can be tough getting even amazing photos noticed on steemit these days. I think the photofeed tag is going to be great for steemit users who are really into photography, more than just snapping pictures.

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

That’s awesome, you should give photofeed a try, it’s going to a great place for photographers to post their work on steemit.

Headstart before the revolution sounds great :). Soon I will participate with some great shots :)

Awesome! Yes get in while it is still young, it’s going to be a great place for photographers to post their work :)

First I have to sort my photos. For the #photofeed I only wanna use high high quality content. :)

Sounds like a great initiative to get involved in. I agree that he photography feed can get saturated with ransom images sometimes so it’ll be good to have a new place to share my content. Looking into the tag just now I’ve seen some great stuff there, looking forward to joining in!

I’m glad I could help you find it! It’s true the photography tag is absolutely full all the time, so it will be nice to have a place to go for really high quality photos here on steemit.

That will be a great tag for photo lovers to explore all the best photo content

I agree, I think it is going to be great for the photography community here :)

will surely use this tag now

Excellent, can’t wait to see your work :)

thank you for encouraging new users like me :)

Hi dude, I must tell you that you saved my life!! I'm also a photographer of nature and food. I love to capture sweet memories in my smartphone but I always feel trouble when I came to post my pictures on steemit. Thank you so much for helping me out. I'll use these tags in my all upcoming posts. :)

Awesome @ikrahch, I’m glad to have helped. Keep up the good work, there is a lot of great talent here on steemit and I have always thought it would be a great place for photographers to showcase their work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76