Incredible Fractal Vegetable I found at the supermarket!!

in #photofeed7 years ago

I was out shopping for groceries today at our local Lidl shop and as I wandered past this crazy looking thing I was so shocked that I had to stop and come back to just stare at it for a little bit.

I have honestly never seen a vegetable like this in my whole entire life, it was so incredibly beautiful to me I wondered if it could even be real, or if it was actually edible! Then as I was staring at this crazy patterned thing an old Spanish Yaya (grandma) sauntered up, casually picked one out of the box and headed for the till.

I guess it's a common thing here?

Well I have no idea what this thing is or what it tastes like, but obviously I had to buy one. I think it is some kind of Cauliflower? If anyone knows what it is please let me know, I'm very curious.

So anyhow, what really enthralled me about his crazy thing was the super intricate fractal pattern that it displays.

What is a fractal you ask?

Well there are different types of fractals, but essentially what a fractal is, is a "self same" pattern, or a pattern that repeats itself as it gets smaller and smaller. I couldn't help but break out my cheap old macro extension tubes to see how far this one went, and as it turns out, it's a great way of describing what a fractal pattern is.

Here we see a shot of the whole thing. Pretty beautiful right?

Europe product photographer - Dallas & Sabrina-8.jpg

See how the patterns of the little nodes repeats itself in a sort of spiral all the way around the vegetable? Well look what happens when we get a little closer...

Europe product photographer - Dallas & Sabrina-1.jpg

Do you see how each little node is basically a copy of the whole? Pretty amazing right??!!?? Let's push in a little closer...

Europe product photographer - Dallas & Sabrina-4.jpg

More nodes copying the structure of the entire thing! Ok, how far does this go? Let's push in as close as I could get with my setup, and I still had to crop the image massively to get this close...

Europe product photographer - Dallas & Sabrina-5.jpg

How incredible is that!!?? It's STILL repeating at this incredibly tiny level!! To give you a bit of an idea how close we are now, I'll show you the full frame of the above photo.

Europe product photographer - Dallas & Sabrina-1-2.jpg

Do you see how even the tiniest nodes on the tiny little nodes are displaying the fractal pattern? It's amazing!

Or maybe I'm just a big huge nerd and find these silly things incredible, hahaha.

Well anyways I found this crazy vegetable both beautiful and fascinating. In fact I would be interested to get this thing under a microscope to see just how far down the pattern really goes! But alas, I don't have one of those.

Oh well, I hope you enjoyed this crazy vegetable as much as I did!

As always if you enjoyed this post feel free to drop one of those sweet, precious, juicy upvotes on me! And be sure to follow me @dexter-k on Steemit to keep up with all of our travels and see new original content every day.

You can also see our professional photography work if you want to by heading over to our website dallaskphoto.com and dallaskolotylo.com.

Thanks for reading!

Dexter

Sort:  

Where I am from we call it Romanesco. It is not very common but people will eat it from time to time. It tastes a lot like cauliflower and it is derived from mixing a cauliflower plant with broccoli. If you look, cauliflower also has a fractal shape, but much less complex and somewhat irregular.

Oh man, thanks so much for telling me what it is called! My wife just looked it up and yeah it is apparently a type of broccoli. It does taste a lot like cauliflower though :) I'll have to take a closer look at a cauliflower one of these days too

wow...excellent photography,i like your post
thanks for share

lOoking beautifull, I saw first time this type vegetable

Sure it neat hey?

Incredibly beautiful.Thank you for sharing this beauty
-cheers-

wow we were taught about fractals in our landscape class..at first it was hard to understand..but later it became very interesting..this is a very amazing vegetable..beautiful one :)

Wow... vegetable unique. Good for health @dexter-k

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #macrophotography, the weekly selection will be released on Friday.

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 18:27:20
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 21.80/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

FANTASTIC POST............................................

wow i got lost in that its superb

looking so sweet .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81