Compositional differences

in #photofeed7 years ago

Yesterday I posted a photo along with my talk about the exciting new photography tag here on Steemit called #photofeed, and I mentioned that I would be making another post to show the difference between the composite image I made and an individual image taken with the same lens, so here it is!

*Note, if you haven't checked out @cryptoctopus' new photography tag project #photofeed go take a look at the @photofeed account right now and get into it!

European wedding photographer - Dallas & Sabrina - 11.jpg

I personally think that the image above is solid, I would (and did) deliver that image to a paying client. It was taken with a Nikon D3S camera and Nikkor 85mm f1.8G lens. I have since upgraded to the mythical Nikkor 85mm f1.4G but to be honest the 1.8 also does an incredible job (and at roughly 1/3 of the price!).

So now let's take another look at the composited image:

European wedding photographer - Dallas & Sabrina - 1.jpg

This image was created by taking about 12 photos from one spot using that exact same camera, lens, and exposure combo, and then stitching the photos together using Adobe Photoshop.

So why take the time to do something like this?

Well as you can see, the images are quite strikingly different in regards to depth of field, composition and image area. The fact is that if you want an image that has this type of look, it's either a digital composition, or an analogue photo shot on large format camera and film. I don't have a large format camera (yet) so for now if I want that ultra shallow depth of field and huge image area look, I have to go with the composition.

Plus it's just fun to experiment with and see what results you can get.

Personally I like both of these images equally, each has it's place in my opinion, but realistically the composited image is the type of thing that you will make maybe one or two of if you are shooting a wedding. It's not feasible or realistic to try and make this type of image for most shots, so it is more of a specialty thing. So which do you prefer Steemians?

As a bonus, here are a few other images taken during this shoot. Some with a 35mm lens, some with a 58mm lens, and some with that same 85.

European wedding photographer - Dallas & Sabrina - 2.jpg

European wedding photographer - Dallas & Sabrina - 3.jpg

European wedding photographer - Dallas & Sabrina - 9.jpg

European wedding photographer - Dallas & Sabrina - 10.jpg

As always if you enjoyed this post feel free to drop one of those sweet, precious, juicy upvotes on me! And be sure to follow me @dexter-k on Steemit to keep up with all of our travels and see new original content every day.

You can also see our professional photography work if you want to by heading over to our website dallaskphoto.com and dallaskolotylo.com.

Thanks for reading!

Dexter

Sort:  

Great work bro love the composition and tones!

Thanks so much man, I’m a big fan of your work as well

You are very clever to take perfect pictures

haha, thank you! But I can't take all the credit, my wife also photographs with me and she shoots about half of the photos that we post and deliver.

you have beautiful and smart wife, , congratulations friend

lovely photography... i like your post,, thanks for good sharing

Glad you like it, thanks for your comment!

Cute couple, Awesome photography and nice explanation., @dexter-k

Thanks so much, I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

Thanks for showing these other pictures as well.

Picking a favorite is difficult because like you said, both ways have their place. If I really had to choose just one, I think I would go for the composite. I think to see the bouquet of flowers and the complete dress is more narrative.

I am also more of a fan of the blue/green toning in the last picture compared to the more golden tones of the image before that one. I feel like it gells just a little better with the pink tones of the flowers.

Fantastic work!

Beautiful work. I enjoy the effect of the wide composite. Also putting them on the steep slope is a nice touch.

I follow you all the times
Y do good work i like so much your photography

Brenizer method? The second image is really great :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.04
Server time: 18:55:04
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 16.45/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Composition with the sloping diagonal ground works well, also the branches give grit to the images.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75