The Road to Hekla Is Paved...

in #photofeed7 years ago

...with good intentions?

A lonely road in Iceland leads to one of the island's most active and famous volcanoes, long considered to be the Gateway to Hell.

Usually the mountain is covered by cloud but on this day it glowered over them threateningly.

Road to Hekla

Sort:  

Wow! This is just beautiful! Really love the dynamics of the photo. Hopefully I will visit it one day - but until that day I will enjoy in photos like these. ;) thanks for sharing!

Thank you! I hope you get to experience it on your own soon, but until then enjoy the virtual tour! :)

@photofeed you have to see this image, it's just too impressive

Thanks, @vmoldo! I've been fortunate enough to have them pick up a few of mine. :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.55 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.11
Server time: 07:00:33
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 319.04/400.00
Total Photos: 15
Total comments: 45
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Gorgeous shot!

Great shot! It's sweet how dark most of the landscape is with that whitecap peeking out and contrasting nicely.

Thank you, @yumyumseth! I wanted to draw the eye more towards the mountain than to anything else. :)

Well I'd consider it a success in that case :)

Outstanding shot! I love the contrast yellow poles leading to Hekla

Thank you! Normally stuff like that just gets in the way, but I do like the yellow markers along Icelandic roads. :)

I really love the dark mood and the processing in this. Perfect shot!

Hey thanks, @mibreit-photo! I did want to give it a brooding, surreal feel. :)

Wow.. How did you like Iceland?

Oh, well, let me count the ways!! I haven't been there since 2012, but I felt an affinity for the place. I love the weather, the people and culture, the mythology, and there's something about the landscape that I haven't felt anywhere else. It's very, um, Tolkien-esque in many ways.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72