Reflections of an Icelandic Water Rock

in #photofeed7 years ago

It must be boring being a rock, sitting in icy water for thousands of years without so much as a game to play, not even Solitaire.

I don't know if I've shared this photo from Iceland before; I've never been able to decide what I think about it. Part of me wants to love it, another part says there's something missing. Well, it's not doing any good sitting in my Lightroom catalog - what do you think would make this photo better?

Rock In the Water

Sort:  

You could play rock, paper, scissors. Without the paper and scissors. And without another person.
You'd never lose! Or win...

That sounds like so much fun.

Ha ha ha ha ha I almost spit my coffee when I read you comment.

Coffee beats rock 😁

Iceland definitely makes me smile! I will say though, regardless of what you think of it, this one of the best pictures of a rock I have ever seen 👌 #rockphotographychallenge

Haha! Thank you. ;)

Wow so crisp. Your shots are always impeccable mate. Making me feel lazy for not waiting long enough for perfect light.

Haha, don't feel that way - I literally was driving by and saw this beside the road and stopped for 10 minutes. ;)

Sounds like the 10 minutes it took you to get those eclipse shots !

Haha, no, that was only two minutes. And a few months. :p

at least it has a great view :)
what do you think would make this photo better? - you standing on that rock :) i love the background, the reflections are nice, the rock i can't decide on.

It might have required a leap of faith to reach that rock, but I agree that a little human interest (Man Drowns Clutching Camera!) would help the scene. Thanks! ;)

if nothing a great clickbait news headline :) (Man Drowns Clutching Camera! (photo and video) )

You'll never guess what happened next!

I love the white peaks and the general mood! Blue is so calming, and especially in long exposure shots. Can you possibly put some (warm) color in the rock? :P Just a random suggestion. It feels a bit heavy, and this creates a contrast with the rest of the photo, but also breaks the calm a bit (at least for me). An awesome photo, nonetheless.

I could possibly do that, good suggestion. I might re-edit this. I didn't have time last night before posting, but it needs an update. Thanks! :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.28
Server time: 05:13:07
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 737.96/800.00
Total Photos: 36
Total comments: 125
Total contest wins: 10
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This photo is pretty amazing!

It's a good photo that makes you feel mysterious.

Oooh, I like feeling mysterious! Thanks, @telomere. :)

Beautiful photo as always!

Very nice one - radiates tranquility and peacefulness :)

As you directly ask for criticism: I think that the shutterspeed is a little bit too fast (Exif says 1/750s) - using a tripod and going for 2-3 seconds could do some wonders to the water and clouds, increasing the "smoothness" of the image a little bit and emphasize the timelessness of the rock....if that makes sense :)

Good idea! It's hard to know how that would have changed this image, but long exposure (usually) looks better. Unfortunately I was in too much of a hurry - I may not even have been using a tripod. :\

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61137.27
ETH 2383.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52