Nature, Naturally

in #photofeed6 years ago

Nature. What do you think of when you hear that word? What is Nature to you?

For me it evokes fresh air, trees, mountains, and a feeling of not being bounded by human concerns. Life, and freedom.

“I only went out for a walk and finally concluded to stay out till sundown, for going out, I found, was really going in.” -John Muir

We have to leave the outside of our homes and go inside nature now and then, to remember who and what we are. Yes, it's easy to idealize nature in literature, photographs and dreams, but what nature really does is remind us that not everything is under our control, and that's a reassuring thought.

Do you have a favourite book that reminds you of what it's like to be out (in) nature?

What book do you like to curl up on the sofa with take outside to read while sitting on a moss-covered rock beside a swift-flowing stream in a forest of sweet-smelling cedars, with a gentle wind carrying the bugs away? Mine is The Lord of the Rings, by J.R.R. Tolkien, whose love of nature is evident through his descriptions of the lands of Middle-earth, which are really our own lands. The power of his prose is never lessened by an interpretive or preachy word; he doesn't have to tell us nature is great - we feel it for ourselves through the eyes of the adventurers.

Taylor River
River rapids on the road between Port Alberni and Ucluelet. A nice place to roam on a rainy day. So much of British Columbia is represented in this one picture: misty trees, water, rock and rain.

If you like taking and sharing photographs of nature you should follow @shadalene's blog tomorrow: she's starting a new daily all-natural Photo Contest. The debut theme will be Mountains, which in my opinion is the best place to start any grand venture.

Sort:  

Personally when I think of nature, something big comes to my mind. I suddenly realise yes there is a BIG God out there , the one that created all this.
To describe nature as beautiful is an understatement. It comes with lots of fresh air , away from the busy cars and noise of the busy civilization.
Lets enjoy, preserve and appreciate nature.
Thanks for sharing

Thank you for sharing as well, @joetunex! :)

Another amazing photo! Thanks for sharing @derekkind.

Thank YOU! :)

Wow thats a huge log !

The kid is not on the same plane as the log. ;)

Yes, yes and yes... space, fresh air, trees, green rolling hills, mountains and wildlife! A place where time doesn't exist and no one is bugging you. No expectations. Free. Alive and alone (with my family). A place to re-set, let go and unwind. A place and a space that we should all be embracing!

Yes!! (I just wish there weren't bugs bugging me while out in nature!).

Hahaa, yes true but I'd rather bugs than hectic people! : )

As long as you can retreat to the tent.

Or just some friendly bug spray! ; )

I feel like you haven't been to Ontario in the late spring...

No... I never have through any season... but do tell. What is it that you are dealing with over there?? : )

Mosquitoes, blackflies, horseflies and ticks.

Nova Scotia is even worse because the ticks are terrible.

Nature is everything including us. We are evolving towards being more and more disconnected from Nature. When you hear Nature call and you reconnect with Nature it is beautiful. I say reconnect because it has always been there in our genes. That's why it seems beautiful but it is also the place where all dangerous things happen. Where, an animal or a storm can kill you. Today we have learned to protect ourselves from the dangers but we still need Nature. I have discovered in landscape photography one big passion to appreciate and respect this world. When somebody asks me if I am a "nature lover" I say: everybody is, even if they don't know it.

Yes, there's truth in the beauty that can be found on the Earth, so deep that even the most closed-hearted among us cannot deny its existence.

Thanks so much, @derekkind! Lovely photograph. :)

Thank you!! :D

When I'm in nature is when I feel most alive. I was just at the Grand Canyon last week, and I could have literally sat in the same spot staring out into the canyon for hours without moving and would have felt totally content (unfortunately I was with a vanload of people who didn't feel the same way). There's something so freeing and meaningful about beautiful nature and when in nature all the stress and problems of life just seem to go away for me.

I definitely agree that The Lord of the Rings books do a great job of describing the beautiful world in which it takes place. I also love Jack London's books, particularly The Call of the Wild. I think he does a great job of presenting the harshness and the beauty of nature at the same time.

Next time you feel like literally sitting beside the Grand Canyon without moving for a few hours, take a long exposure of you sitting there in front of some blurred clouds!

I love Jack London's books too! At least the two I've read, The Call of the Wild and White Fang, which in some ways are two sides of the same coin. I re-listened to those audiobooks on this trip. :)

I wish to visit BC, for now I'm limited to my area in Ontario. But even here is real great nature. For me nature is a lot of green, remote, rivers, lots of wildlife..

Yeah, it's not too bad here, a lot of lakes and trees - I just miss the mountains. :)

Same for me. In 2014 we drove from Hamilton, ON to Denver, CO to be able to see some mountains. I only had 1 week of vacation, so we ended up driving more than 7000 km in 1 week, but it eat worth it

Woah! Did you get to spend any time there or just have to turn around right away?

Lol. Luckily we like driving.
We went through Rockies down to New Mexico and via North of Texas back. ☺

You did all that in a week???

I like driving too, so I understand, but that sounds like you didn't get to stop anywhere.

Yeah from Saturday to the next Sunday. When we do a trip like that, we're trying to get a little of most things. Like Rocky mountain ntl park, you can go for a full week, we only drive through it with some short stops at the most important places. I wish I had more time for vacations 🙂

Sounds fun though! I love driving and can go for days, but it's hard to go from driving mode to photography mode. I either go forever in a day without stopping or I stop everywhere and don't get anywhere.

Hi! I have featured one of the images that you submitted to my 7 World´s Continents Photo Challenge in today´s color challenge. What an amazing image. Kindly see if you can attend your winner announcement post to answer some congratulation notes for your increased engagement. Tomas

ColorChallenge - Red Monday - @derekkind in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

Thank you so much, Tomas! I'll head over there! :D

Stunning! You've really captured the force/scale of nature in this one, love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49