My tablet broke = new Dell Canvas

in #photofeed7 years ago (edited)

Its been a bit frustrating working over the past few days as all the tech around me seems to be acting up. First my wirelesskeyboard and mouse stop working (problem with receiver) and the latest is my Wacom Intous has developed an annoying habit where every single click is a rapid double click. Its just making any image edits a pain as Im spending twice as long, spending half the time undo'ing actions caused by double clicks or else switching to my mouse which is always slower for me.

So anyway, I eventually figured I needed to replace it but didnt really want to go for another similar model. I believe the fault is mostly down to a drivers issue and Wacom use a common driver for all current models. Before anyone suggests Ive reinstalled the driver many times over, removed all trace of it, reinstalled older drivers...it all gets it working for a day or two and then it reverts back. So when I began looking at alternative options I remembered Dell have a really slick looking device out now called the Canvas. Its basically the same as a Wacom 27QHD Touch except newer tech so a few higher specs (100% Adobe RGB screen, yes please). It should arrive today or tomorrow so I'll let you know what its like after I get it setup.

In the meantime it means Im trying to only work on shots that require minimal editing and who better than the stunning Eefa Larkin. The girl is just flawless!!

This were from a shoot we did a while back, and I had the legend that is @condra giving me a hand with this one. I'm delighted with how it turned out so I thought it'd make a nice Friday morning share :)

02.jpg

Hope you like :)

By the way if anyone wants to see the new tablet, its this one here. It looks epic.

Sort:  

You should take this opportunity and go real old school. We can get a dark room! I'll buy the chemicals.

Right, we'll get on that!!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Server time: 09:10:06
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 724.92/800.00
Total Photos: 79
Total comments: 30
Total contest wins: 5
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

ow man. it's so much hurt then a breakup.

Yep technology is not my friend this week.

ow really sad. :(

Looking forward seeing your review of it
:)
Great photo by the way!

Cheers dude, hopefully its as good as it looks.

Good luck with your new machine. The wait kills me, knowing something is on the way...

I've been following your work here on steemit for a while now (and @condra too), and I've never asked this before, but I'm wondering where you guys find all your models? Do you simply have a bunch of really really good looking friends that like to pose, or do they hire you, or do you hire them? Just wondering.

It's a bit of a mixed bag. There's some models we both know well and have become friends at this stage. A lot of the time it's models I've come across on FB groups. I've had reasonable success on Model Mayhem but responses can be a bit slower on there. Still worth a look though.

Now I hear about the Wacom issue! Just bought one! And in week two: lo and behold, previous settings have fallen away to complicate my life! Happy to hear it's not only trying to irk me. Sad to hear how consumers have to suffer once again at the hands of over-priced, underperforming technology. Fingers crossed with the Dell! (Still have mixed feelings about my first Dell desktop...) Keep us posted! Amazing how you still manage to put up great work despite your frustrations.

Thanking you kindly. I usually find Dell kit pretty solid with good driver support. The Canvas is still pretty new so only a small few reviews so far. Everything I'm reading about it seems positive though so fingers crossed.

Love this model! Image is class!

Thanks, shes stunning alright

hi @davekavanagh, that new tablet looks amazing!!! i've been using an old wacom intuos (bought second hand off eBay) for about 10 years and still going strong, so i've not really been keeping up with that sort of tech till i stumbled upon your link. OMG, mind seriously blown! Do you know if there's stuff like this that works with Mac?

There's lots of lesser know chinese knock offs that are meant to be near the same spec and work with mac. Alternatively Wacom themselves make the Cinqiq 27QHD (Touch and Non Touch versions). The Cintiq range are a bit more pricey though and I think more aimed at illustration. Still meant to be amazing devices though.

Thank you! That's very helpful starting point , i'll have to take a closer look now that you've tempted me lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84