a simple church for a simple world

in #photofeed6 years ago



I speak not of men's creeds—
they rest between man and his Maker.
Lord Byron, Childe Harold's Pilgrimage



Built in 1852 by Charles Mount, the quaint historic church building was moved from Mountsberg to Rockton — approximately 30km (18 miles).

We visited on a day where there weren't many volunteers working to give us information about the church. I know from the sign that it was of Episcopal Methodist denomination.

Mostly everything is authentic. The soft pink paint at the front of the church with the painted banner is original as are the light fixtures, bubble glass windows and the front door. However, the pews and painted wainscotting are reproductions. Historically, both pews and wainscotting were oiled wood, unpainted. Updated for this village, they were painted to keep them fresh looking for wedding venues.

The outside of the building was freshened up with paint and most of the wood slats are from the 1850's.

During the move, the building was damaged. The walls almost collapsed and iron beams needed to be strapped across the ceiling to stabilize the walls. Minor cosmetic repairs were completed with new materials but the village tried to keep it as true to the original as possible.

It's quite peaceful with its simplicity and lack of ornate decor. I wanted to stay a while and take it in but there were a few other people milling about.

_

By reading the scriptures I am so renewed
that all nature seems renewed around me and with me.
The sky seems to be a pure, a cooler blue, the trees a deeper green.
The whole world is charged with the glory of God
and I feel fire and music under my feet.
Thomas Merton



Categoryarchitectural photography
LocationRockton, Ontario
CameraNikon D3100
LensNikkor AF-S 55mm f/1.8 - 16.0
SettingsISO100 | 50mm | f/1.8 | 1/120 - 1/125s



Thank you @ace108 for initiating the #BeautifulSunday photo challenge.



Sort:  

Hey @countrygirl, the photos you have taken of the church are so beautiful! 😍

There's a certain aura of calmness and tranquility that I feel just by looking at it.

Thanks for sharing! (:

Thank you @joeylim. Glad you enjoyed these photos and post.

Lovely photos - it seems as if time has stood still in that little church - even the play of light within seems timeless. Simplicity is elegant.

Nice photos! The light pattern on the floor from the window is especially nice. The yellow doors are great, too. Are they the "golden gates?"

My parents were at a confirmation today and brought me back some cupcakes. A little off topic, but it would fit right in there!

MNM20180415-EOS_84622018.jpg

I LOVE CUPCAKES!!!

Beautiful old building!I have so much respect for old structures like this.It pleases me to see these buildings still existing and are being looked after.I really enjoyed your article.You photo captures are very descriptive and give the viewer an excellent idea of what this building has to offer.
Thanks again for a great post I am enjoying your content.Resteemed

I love these places too. And tend to spend a lot of time in them to get a feel for them and look at every nook and cranny. I'm there long after everyone else has come and gone. I find it very relaxing.

Thanks for the resteem upvote and comment @waterfordguy :)

I love that shot of the old wood floor. You can so easily imagine generations of footsteps.

I love the floor too.....I love wood and wished the pews were kept unpainted, but for easier upkeep after weddings and meetings.....but I can use my imagination and pretend :)

Just think of Tom Sawyer whitewashing them, and that will put an old spin on it. :)

I know!! They could have used whitewashing as a demonstration for the tourists and at least kept it truer to the times. Tom Sawyer....that's a old book.....love that story.

Just revisited it by audiobook on a long drive. As good as I remembered in high school.

I love it when buildings are moved and preserved. Such honor paid to architects and history. The arched windows.. beautiful. Happy to see they are able to save and honor history this way. Beautiful shots!

I like that as well. Over the years, I've seen some of these small houses while in transit...the flat bed usually takes up two lanes and goes so slow. Some people get impatient....not naming anyone ;)

Excellent post, I have participated in competitions and I consider excellent architecturalphotography

It is lovely in its simplicity. I agree. I love that one lamp post too:)

There is a calming with simplicity. Maybe that's why people seemed more content.

Yes ... as I get older ... more and more I am drawn to minimalism

Congratulations, your post received 4.09% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnjgeddes! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 03:26:45
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 409.89/800.00
Total Photos: 26
Total comments: 165
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 1.11 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83