Unconventional Friendship - A Story

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

So what do you do when you are totally free and relaxed?

  • If someone asks me that, my answer is, "I observe Nature".

By nature, I mostly mean birds. I always say I love birds and everything they do is so calm and beautiful for me. So this is a story of an unconventional friendship between two natural beings, one of them being a white beautiful bird, of course and how I found peace in them.

Like almost all the time when I am free, I was out observing the ways of the nature and I had my camera buddy with me. And here came this beautiful Heron fella in a field very close to me, where I was seated, looking for some insects to feed upon.

So i took out my zoom lens and took the shot expecting nothing more out of it and unknown I would be overwhelmed later.


2ngbhaiy6c.jpg
So came this Mr.Whitey, all stealthy, hoping to find something to feed upon


Just when I was planning to go somewhere else, a woman came and left her Cow to graze upon the field. To my surprise, Mr.Whitey wasn't alerted. Instead, he started going closer to the Cow and Mrs. MooMoo accepted Whitey's friendship proposal and the wonderful story began.


9b4f15fz9c.jpg
Whitey and MooMoo, a start. Remember their names.


As I started looking closer, there was a reason behind this lovely communion between two contrasting beings. MooMoo being large and a bit dirty because of the recent dump, attracted insects and worms. And it was the best case scenario for Whitey. What appeared as a friendship was merely a Natural Selection. But MooMoo had no objection to this little fella being around and my childish mind wanted to take this as a lovely friendship story and nothing more, leaving all the intricacies behind.


e0ip3t4r5i.jpg
Sometimes Whitey would lead the way and MooMoo followed



mjnjqg0p9y.jpg
At other times MooMoo led


All these times, Whitey would go round and round MooMoo and then feed upon insects, the large bud attracted. I couldn't get this particular shot as 300mm was as far as I could get and I wouldn't want to scare this bonding away.

But then something came in the way of their friendship. Maybe it was a Rat and Mr.Whitey was scared or even a snake. I never knew what it was exactly.


fzjr0auzl9.jpg
Scared Whitey but indifferent MooMoo, so it must have been a Rat or something


Panicked Heron flew to the nearest building and this marked the beginning of the end of this pure communion.


052pn06vnq.jpg
Panicked flight



vrok7i611j.jpg
Whitey stayed there for a while watching his big bud.


Apparently, I was so consumed by this - I never realized it was growing dark and this friendship was bound to end. I was unable to leave the scene until they left. Finally, Whitey flew away to join his troop to the nest.


o4slxxmp1h.jpg
Bye Bye Whitey


This story may sound silly but this is what I love. I love getting lost in the nature and see small things like this. It is in these things, that I find peace and riddance of my day's anxiety.
And if you have made this far, I would like to thank you for going down the lane and bearing with me in my childish little story and below-mediocre writing.
Sort:  

It is a nice form of mediation. Love wildlife photography for that reason.

Absoultely man. After a difficult day, all I do is go to the terrace and observe them. And in 5 to 10 minutes, pain=gone!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

A very beautiful story. I love the names you gave to these guys: MooMoo and Whitey.
However, I'm pretty sure this is a heron and not a heroin. 😂

Brooooo! Thaaaanks!
Looks like I came up with two different spellings: 1. Heroine 2. Heroin and never the correct one.
You saved me from being flagged!
Would've sounded both racist and addict!

Was listening to this heroin song by some emo band the whole day and thus the effect.

Luckily there is someone reading your posts. 😂
And you highlighted the word. So funny. Always remember, drugs are not your friends! 🤣

You made a wonderful story out of the unusual friendship of the heron and cow. Lovely shots, Cave.

Thank you Jo! I am happy that you liked it.

Heeey! I was a great story!

Thanks ma! I am back!

I love what interactions you can discover if you're patient in watching nature. There is always so much we don't see, because we don't take the time to see it and dismiss much of the natural world as being unintelligent. So many different species interact for their survival.

That is why I love your farming stories and don't want to miss them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79