“Big Boys Toys” Photo Contest – Week 7 - Lieca IIIc K

in #photofeed6 years ago

The Leica III was a screw-mount, coupled-rangefinder built by Leitz Wetzlar in the early days of WWII: 1933-1939.
he Leica III was followed by the IIIa (1935-1940, 1946-1948), which was in turned followed by the IIIb (1938-1940) and then the IIIc which spanned through the post-War period (1940-41, 1946-). The IIIc is the preferred model by many collectors as it has a solid, die-cast body (rather than separate parts) and a redesigned shutter.
W.W. II camera production was not easy for Leica. One of the wartime shortages was chromium. As a result some IIIc were painted gray to conserve the precious stuff long enough to get cameras finished while those pesky American and British bombers did their best to bomb the Leica factory. Some of the gray cameras had special ball bearing shutter bearings for low temperature use. Marked "K" on the top plate and on the shutter curtain, these special cameras were intended primarily for the German Air Force or Luftwaffe. This particular IIIc K camera survives in much better than average condition.
While most IIIc K cameras are grey, they exist in chrome too. There is a lot of variation in Leica wartime production.

Honestly, I have never used this camera for a shooting. Maybe since I have middle format Mamiya if I want to go for a film...
But really consider this Leica as a piece of art, so its stays safely in my home museum...

Enjoy the view :)


Leica-Old.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!
CategoryPRODUCT PHOTOGRAPHY
CameraCanon 6D / Sigma 50mm

All photoes are for sale in HQ digital format for Steem/SBD, please contact if interested
at steemit.chat @axeman - only @originalcontent / @originalworks

If any questions regarding photography settings/conditions, please comment

Upvote if You LIKE / Resteem if You CARE / Follow if You LOVE

...live for the moments You can't put into words...

BeScouted

35Photo

Facebook

Sort:  

Very good perspective

Thank for the history lesson :) I don't see content like this often.

Very cool camera, the craftsmanship of those old Lieca's is unbelievable. I heard that Canon got their start by making knock off Lieca cameras and Nikon got started by making knock off Lieca lenses.

I'm thinking where would be civilization by now.. if not World War II

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 1 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

I have a very similar camera that belonged to my great grandfather, it came in a hard leather case, if I'm not mistaken there's one in the background? I cleaned it really well and actually shot some photos with it and it worked like brand new. Great piece to own, you should shoot at least one roll of film with it!

Yeah, of course with a leather case :) And yes, it is in working condition, as was bough from a photographer actually using it. But you see, if shooting films I would still prefer middle format, since its much more better for a final quality.
But well, who knows.. maybe sometimes

That sure is a decent piece of gear to drool over.. what a time that was, when cameras and lenses were made out of metal and glass only. 😍


t.

@axeman thanks so much for your entry, nice photo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63517.53
ETH 3062.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81