Landscape/Seascape Contest Week #049 - Three Towers

in #photocontest5 years ago

49.jpg

The photo was taken at the Base Torres Viewpojnt in the Torres del Paine National Park, Chile. One of the most awe-inspiring places. To get to the viewpoint and the glacial lake, I had to walk 7-8 hours. A 24/25 kilometer round trip. The most challingen part of the trek was the 45 minute ascent from the base of the moraine to the lake. The view of the three towers are impressive: South Tower (2,850 m.o.s.l.), Central Tower (2,800 m.o.s.l.), North Tower (2,600 m.o.s.l.).


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next photo shoot. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Latest photo shoot, check out :
Qurator's Photo Friday Competition #95 - New York


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)


Read about us? // Main page!
Latest content: Travel, Art, Food, Article, Poetry

Sort:  

I have great memories of when I sneaked inside the park entrance and walked unnoticed for two days to get to the camp down below the base, unfortunately the rangers didn't let me stay so I had no more time to go up there due to the rain (a girl severely injured herself that day descending). Being completely wet and tired I decided not to push my luck and wild camp somewhere, so I walked back two days and hitchhiked to El Calafate.

Oi! so you sneaked inside :) That last part is very rocky and steep. I did feel it was a challenge to get up there. I can imagine is is easy to get injured. We were in Calafate too. Started there by hiking to the Fitz Roy. Then took the buss to Puerto Natales and from there to Torres del Paine. Patagonia is really a trekkers paradise :)

It is, especially if you go to more remote trekks in Cerro Castillos. Have you ever heard about the Greater Patagonian Trail? google it and be amazed xD

Sneaking always adds a bit more adrenaline to the whole thing, plus I had zero money on my pockets back then and the fees were too expensive =/

Yeah I have heard of that, but not checked it out. When planning the trip we did look at altanatives to be able to chose. We spent more time in Argentina around Mt. Fitz Roy. Our time in Chilean Patagonia was more limited, so we didn't have time to do treks that would take us severat days. We wanted to vistit Atacama and Easter Island on that time trip. But I think I will be back to Chile :)

Yeah, it's not a huge country, but it has so much to see. Chiloé island is also nice to go around the summer, when the fests are going on with typical food and everything. Atacama must be amazing, I'm planning to cycle up there, maybe this summer.

Atacama is amazing! make sure to have plenty of time. I am planning South - America again in two years. Chiloé is a place I should like to include :)

Beautiful view

It is a stunning place.

Impressive landscape... After effort, superb reward.

It is :) I must admit I almost gave up an hour before arring at the lake. Climbing that rocky terrain was hard. And after returning back to the starting we had a beer... and what was on the label? the Three Towers :)

20190108_190132.jpg

Cool... This beer would certainly did you some good after the hike, the feeling best beer ever :-)

You are right. I don't think a beer has ever tasted that good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11