It’s been a while...

in #photocircle4 years ago

If you don’t count the last article on this blog, I think it’s been around 6 months since I last wrote something. And the last one I wrote was because @lishu thought of me to be the moment bearer of the @steemtorch.

Why is that? you might think.

F59763F2-6DDE-4B13-9480-EAAA58EBD427.jpeg

Politics

That’s all there is there and that’s the first and last good reason I decided to drop Steemit for a while and concentrate on something else... something I thought it was “real”. But it isn’t.

About a year ago I decided to get inside a new political party we have in Romania, one that was promissing new faces on the political scene in Romania and one that was promissing “change”. Aren’t they all promissing “change” and then “change” gets to be late to dinner? This one isn’t any different from that but I had to see it with my own eyes and feel it with my own guts.

So I dedicated my free time to work for the party, put all my efforts into it and think that I am doing it for a good cause. It took me nights of being awake and dedicating myself to it. It took me time from my own, that it should’ve been dedicated to my family. I sacrificed and thought “this must be it!”... “my country will change if they come to power!”.

And as time went by I discovered that politics in itself is the wrong way of governing a country. The intrigues and the way things just “are” make change impossible. You can’t change a bad way of governing over a country if you just use the same set of rules that brought us here. And if changing this set of rules is not done abruptly then the system will eat you alive, will make you forget the goals that brought you inside the game.

D6E3D663-B9A1-4416-BE0A-4B0E936FFFD7.jpeg

The game is rigged

In less than a year I found out that changing faces is not enough as long as those new faces have the same set of values and run for the same things like the ones before. It’s not the nose, or the eyes, or the hair that really makes us different from each other. The real differences come from inside us, from the values our parents put there while we were kids and from the good things we manage to pick up along the way, while managing to not get bitten by the ugly side of life. Not being involved in politics doesn’t necesarilly make you the right person for the job.

And then I realised: If they wanted people with moral compass then they would develop a “Morality test” which you have to pass, one way or another, before getting involved in politics. But nobody has that and if they do, there’s only the name, while morality will be byased and understood only in the sense that those who made the test see it. So the creators wouldn’t be political virgins, they would only be there first. And guess what: whoever is there first will never let go power unless they are forced to do it.

I think it’s in the human being these characteristcs that make us destroy each other for a financial gain, while posing as the heroes of the day. If you really dig deep down inside history you will discover that in the whole wide world there were only very few different people that got to power and really tried to impose their good set of values. Probably under 1%. The rest have, one way or the other, tried to balance the financial values towards themselves and the bunch of pricks that made up their team.

It’s sad but once you get Inside a political party you start understanding why this is happening. Hard to explain, a lot of details inside other details; it’s a spider’s web that’s made out of arguments and opinions that most of them are empty words, meaning nothing, being used only to justify this or that, reasons to avoid real morality from taking place.

For me it’s a great dissapointment but, as I like to say, “life goes forward as backwards it’s impossible to”.

C1503D28-DF8A-4A4E-8B27-EFBA7BDB6D77.jpeg

I missed you Steemit

But in the same time I think it was a good time to drop a pause in my steemian life. I still observed everything happening here but I had to put a little distance between myself and something that was eating up alive my creativity. Sometimes you have to take a pause just in order to be able to continue. After all, steeming is a hobby and if you struggle to post daily then at some point you will be empty of interesting things to say. That’s totally counterproductive for both the content creator and the client.

So now I’m back fresh. With a lot of content in my bag and a lot of things to write about. A little bit older (unfortunatelly), a little bit wiser (I hope!) and a little bit more experienced (that’s for sure).

Stay tunned for more words and pictures coming out straight of my asshole mind :)

PS. The pictures I accompanied this article with have been taken on a moody evening while walking through my city to the party HQ. We are preparing for the mayor elections and I’m being integrated part of the campaign as the “content guy”: pictures, movies, graphics and copywriting.

That’s right: I’m not dropping politics and the only reason I’m doing it is because it’s much better to be inside and try to change even a fraction of the bad story developing, instead of being on the outside and dancing on the music that they are preparing for you.

Sort:  

Welcome back, we surely missed your photos ;) @tipu curate

Thanks man! :D it’s good to be back and see you’re still packing a punch in the photo curation section 😋 see u around!

For as long as steem exist, @photocircle will do as well. Cheers! See you around :)

If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal"

I tried for many years to prove it wrong and at some point I even thought I did but eventually I was completely disappointed and I accepted that it is a very true quote (at least for Greece). Anyway you are on a different path and I wish you the best!
Don't answer if you don't want to, but out of curiosity, are you with ADN?

Anyway glad to see you back! My feed keeps shrinking lately :)
What has changed? A lot of unemployed bid bots that search for content to upvote and less content creators! Good time to built your account, very bad to cash out. And with 50% curation rewards everyone is rushing to vote first (within the first 5').

Looking forward to see what you've got!

Welcome back :)

Man, please translate ADN :) I have no issue to tell you the party I'm in. In translation would be "The Union for Saving Romania" but as a acronym, in Romanian, is USR.

So that's why my automatic curation was bringing back so bad revenues :) I still have it set for 10 minutes.

I'll give to Steemit the same things man: photography and thoughts, always honest and always wrapped in the best format I can.

See u around :)

I meant the Alternative for National Dignity (ADN) but anyway I don't know much about Romania's politics :)

Yes, I have set my autovotes at 3.5 to 4 min. You should observe the differences and make up your mind.

Steem on!

Welcome back!

I remember your great articles and pictures very well!
I came back here a couple of months ago, because, you know,

«Just when I thought I was out, they pull me back in!»
Michael Corleone

After all, steeming is a hobby... 😁 😁 😁

Thank you man!

You are perfectly right: you can temporarily drop a hobby but it will come back to bite your ass sooner or later 😄😂

Cheers and see u around!

politics in itself is the wrong way of governing a country

Thanks fo your report from the inside; it is what I suspected!
This is also the reason I can not vote; there is no way to vote anything that's outside of these politics.

I think we just have to live loud and strong, might be the best policies we can make...

I think that “live and let live” might be the single best politics a decent guy must do 🙂

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94