You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Be appreciative of what you have, not focused on what you want to have

in #photocircle5 years ago

I think we all do this sometimes. It is hard not to put the issues you think are unfair to you first. It is also very hard to want to give to others for me once I had my kids. I can't help but think that every dollar I make should go to them or things for them. Yet I have and do sometimes give a few dollars to a person out there. But I have to believe them. I very rarely do it to younger looking men though. I grew up very poor and can't believe when I see a younger person begging and not hustling. I am very lucky I know that I grew up poor where I did though. Again a great post man you always make me think. Nice photos, I never feel okay taking shots like those.

Sort:  

Yes i think your right its something most of us go through
, I pretty much never give cash to people on the street, if they touch me I may give food and or a drink, but cash you never know what it is going to be used for,
I remember in one country I was in there were young kids begging looking so dirty and poor, it was so touching to see and you felt you had to give something, but then one of the Local staff one day showed,me where those kids lived as they got home for a day begging on the roadside, their father was driving them home in a very nice car, and a short while later they were all clean in good clothes and playing outdoors and having fun, and the house they were in was quite grand for the city I was in.
I was totally shocked by this, and hence I very seldom give money directly to people on the street no matter how they may tug at my heart.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26