#137 My Minimalist Series (3) | 简(三)

in #photocircle6 years ago (edited)

IMG_2719.JPG

👆 me running like crazy with the Bolivian flag at Uyuni salt flat 😃


This post is a bit different from the travel or photography posts I normally do. It's kind of free writing to express my thoughts. But of course, it’s hard to escape my beloved elements of travel or photography. ;)


今天继续极简风的主题,抛弃通常的看图说话,来玩玩直抒胸臆。=)


Less is more.
Simplicity is king.
Quality, not quantity.
Collect moments, not things.
Eliminate instead of organize.

You might hear similar sayings hundreds of times? Same here.

I was fond of minimalism in the aesthetic sense from the beginning, without knowing this term, such as architectures or patterns with simple lines and shapes, and paintings or photos with enough negative space...

But the wider sense of minimalist style started to sink in, when I decided to quit my day job and sold my apartment while in mortgage. When I finally gave up everything I worked hard to have owned, but to study and work abroad and to travel the world, it came to me.

It's not that I wanted to follow any minimalism fad, it's because when I traveled a lot, I simply couldn't possess a lot. I had to discard all the unnecessary stuff to move around lightly. I started to realize it's perfectly possible to live out of a suitcase or/and a backpack. When I was on the road for less than 3 months, a small backpack was always enough.


Mini.JPG

👆 shot by me from Amtrak's California Zephyr train | USA


I guess frequent travelers or expats know it - you don't need that much except for some essential items. Would you rather own the world and see a little, or own a little and see the world? When you own less, you see more; and when you feel more, you desire even less.

Eventually, the magical hands of minimalism started to reach all parts of my life, reminding me constantly to ask myself the questions:

"Do I really need this? "
"Can I reuse that instead of replacing it?"


IMG_7640.JPG

👆 shot by me right after sunrise in the desert area | Bolivia


So I consume less and less, but create more and more. Still, I'm not sure if I'm a 100% minimalist. Or does the word of "minimalism" really make that much sense?

Though I adore the clean Nordic style, I also love the effusive flow of colors and details everywhere when living in Latin America.

I value the serenity and solidarity in the empty wildness, with only basic necessities to survive; But at the same time, I enjoy the clashing of ideas with different minds, in a messy space filled with models and prototypes.

I cherish a little simple sandwich in a quiet Western town, while I miss as well the endless choices of food, along with the hustle and bustle from Asian streets.

Humans are never simple, aren't we?


jiok.jpg

👆 shot by me from a ship in Sydney | Australia


At last, let me end with a few lines from The Minimalists blog I've been following for years:

Minimalism is a tool that can assist you in finding freedom.
Freedom from fear.
Freedom from worry.
Freedom from overwhelm.
Freedom from guilt.
Freedom from depression.
Freedom from the trappings of the consumer culture we’ve built our lives around.
Real freedom.



All content by @itchyfeetdonica
图文 by Donica多
Photo shot with Canon EOS Kiss X3 & iPhone 7



Thank you for reading. Please tell me what you think in the comments. Until next time! =)

感谢阅读!你的关注/点赞/留言/转发就是对我最好的支持~ 下次见!:)


Here are some of my travel shots. Check out my travel posts on Steemit World Map, and follow me for more adventures around the globe!


!steemitworldmap -20.950212 lat -67.346191 long Uyuni, Bolivia d3scr

Sort:  

有个像风一样的女子~

Posted using Partiko iOS

hahaha 快被风吹跑的女子~

像疯了一样的女子😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

哈哈哈 越来越差

Beautiful photos Donica! The first shot of "minimalist you" on the Bolivian salt pan looks incredible! Did you have someone else taking this photo or was it a distant selfie set-up? :)

Thanks Petr! If I remember correctly, it's taken by a Portuguese girl from the same jeep. =)

I could put your first photo within the miniature exhibition I went to recently and it would fit in perfectly well! Great photos and post ..
as always

Thanks LUT for your continuous support! :)

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

天高地闊

Posted using Partiko Android

can't pick my favourite from the first two. i love minimalist photos but i still don't have an eye for it, i have to consciously search for it, don't notice it as i do many other things in photographing.

Thanks @bil.prag! I like your photography. I think you are good at many types of it. Are you a professional?

i kinda love to photograph anything so i am not really good in any of it. but that is story of my life :) I kinda do photography semi seriously for 4 years (when i bought my first dslr), but it is not something i live from. i do some paid work but most of it is for fun. my "main" job is actually accounting/bookkeeping.

Haha, surprise! I didn’t expect you to be an accountant! I thought you were in the creative industry. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

i think it started as a vent from the job. i have a theory that people need hobbies to stay sane :D

天空之鏡好美

Posted using Partiko iOS

对呢 好像因为日本那个纪录片变得很有名~

啲相全部都好靚👍🏼👍🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

在天空之境狂奔应该很爽翻吧 XD

haha 是啊 🍫 就是紫外线超强 而且四周白茫茫一片很刺眼

I like the third photo , it's pure and lovely to see yellow in the sky blue , well done @itchyfeetdonica

Thanks @madamuhammad for dropping by! :)

Congratulations @itchyfeetdonica! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95