IMVU Nostalgia

in #photo7 years ago

Hello everyone.


hphd.jpg

So there is this website called IMVU, and some of you have probably heard about it by now. I spent a lot of time on this website when I was younger, and hung out with a lot of my friends in the virtual chat that the site offers. I talked to a lot of interesting people, and hung out in a lot of interesting rooms, all while sporting an avatar that probably looked nothing like me, haha.

My mom met the man that she has been with for years on there. I talked her into making a virtual avatar, and she rocked some hot outfits, and met a very nice guy in the virtual world. They talked a lot, got closer, and then started to video call.

This resulted in one of the reasons that we moved from Michigan to Texas, which was a move that changed who I am today. I really got to know myself there.

So when I loaded up IMVU for fun the other day, nostalgia really hit.


The virtual items and worlds look insanely better than they did when I used to use the site. I decided to go on a small shopping spree, and check out some of the rooms again. Back then, you could enter any room, and instantly make friends, but now it seems harder to find a chill room where you can jump right into the convo. I definitely want to find a new community on here though.

The clothing items look amazing now as well. Much more realistic. If anything, I'll be using this as photo references for my webcomic characters, or other art. It's super fun to take pictures as well.

004.jpg

I ended up taking a lot of photos, since I bought some holiday outfits. I'm probably not going out for New Years this year, so I figured why not party in the virtual world.

009.jpg

I got myself some party clothes, and also nabbed a cool club to decorate. I'll most likely be hosting my own virtual party for the adults of IMVU.

dancinny.gif

Notice the purple and blue hair? I might just be cosplaying my own character, Freya, from the Neophile webcomic I'm working on. The virtual character will make for a good art reference minus the actual cat ears and tail, haha.

Snap_JqYSKYFMnw2002093699.png

I've been on this site since around 2008, and I remember when the photos you could save were tiny, and the transparency had jagged edges. Holy shit, the quality has gone up! Imagine when we can have our VR characters this easily customize-able. It will be like shopping in real life, almost.

006.png

I think I'll definitely be taking too many pictures of my avatar. >_>; It's insane the outfits you can come up with on here, and I think the only thing that has a creator community close to this is probably Second Life.

Snap_XLxNX28fgU1063663293.png

Okay, I kind of just want all these clothes in real life. xD So, I guess this post was just to ramble about me getting reacquainted with IMVU, and the memories I had of it. There was always some sort of drama, people trying to get in your pants, and really fake people, but the whole point of this site is to be able to be whoever you want. I don't really think you can call someone fake on here. It's to be expected.

Snap_SbjUP6LemW497098310.png

I always used it as a way to show off my strange fashion sense, and get away from real life. Well, I used to use it to get away from real life, and roleplay who I wished I was, but now I am mostly who I want to be, so I'll probably be able to form some actual meaningful relationships this time. Most of the other ones faded away, and thus I left the site. I do have some good memories with my best friend, who I've been friends with for a lonnnnng time - since we were 10, and I'm 27 now!


Well anyways, I'll be sharing some good photos I take on here, so hopefully you enjoy them. Here is one I forgot to share for Christmas.

007.jpg

Bring on the New Year!


All photos are my avatar.

Sort:  

Holy cow when I saw "imvu" in your post title I knew I had heard of it somewhere but couldn't quite figure out exactly. As soon as I saw your screenshots it all came back to me. I spent a considerable amount of time messing around on imvu when I was younger!

Thanks for bringing back a rush of nostalgia for myself as well! Great post!

Yvw. I remember thinking it was the shit, and now we have VRChat, haha! I can tell they are trying to keep up with the times, but they won't be able to compete with VR soon.

Do you remember Second Life also? That was basically like the same thing as imvu. I'm sure both of them are slowly dying no matter how much they are trying to adapt!

Yeah, I mentioned in the post that I think Second Life is the only other world with as much creator content as IMVU. I used to use Second Life as well, haha. It's probably eerily quiet in the worlds that used to be super busy on there.

Hmm I never played around on this site, but it brings me back to when I used to join random chat rooms. Happy holidays to u too @zombiedoll :)

I have no idea about iMVU Nostalgia, but I have learned about it today from your post.great website. . thanks for share. . @zombiedoll

Happy New Year To You And Everyone

those photo make me thinking

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60881.23
ETH 2600.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56