Koprivshtitsa Train Station

in #photo7 years ago (edited)

The name of this gorgeous little town, nestled high up in the mountains, is the hardest word in the Bulgarian language for an English-speaking foreigner like myself to pronounce. I pride myself on sounding almost like native speakers ;)


At any rate, we were driving back from the town to Sofia when I happened to notice this really cool pattern outside the window:

DSCF1857.JPG


So I instructed our highly experienced driver (as during this particular trip, a few days before, she had driven through snow flurries for the first time -- very bravely, I might add ) to slam on the brakes, but she did the smart thing, instead, and pulled over at the nearest turnout ;) -- just after this particular tunnel:

DSCF1850.JPG


Here's a close-up of the ridge above:

DSCF1851.JPG


We walked quite quickly through the tunnel to go snap pics of the railroad beauty below:

DSCF1853.JPG


The following are the pics that followed ;) Tell me which ones you like best!

DSCF1864.JPG


DSCF1859.JPG


DSCF1861.JPG


DSCF1858.JPG


DSCF1862.JPG


I like the rust :D

DSCF1863.JPG


DSCF1864.JPG


DSCF1870.JPG


Without the bothersome pole in the way ;) Which one is better, in your opinion -- the below or the above?

DSCF1871.JPG


DSCF1872.JPG


DSCF1876.JPG


A train passed just as we made our way to the bottom of the road:

DSCF1868.JPG


Nice graffiti :)

DSCF1869.JPG


Some shadows...

DSCF1872.JPG


I love these colors!

DSCF1873.JPG


And these:
DSCF1874.JPG


DSCF1875.JPG


DSCF1876.JPG


DSCF1877.JPG:


The very train station itself:

DSCF1865.JPG


And a bonus pic, a teaser of upcoming pics from Koprivshtitsa itself:

DSCF1760.JPG


Hope you liked! Ciao за now!

Sort:  

I loved every minute of this impromptu stop! The bonus was our impeccable timing to catch the train!!!

P.S. Thank you for the compliments on my driving. May the director's cut version of that snow story never be seen/heard. ;)

My favorite picture is absolutely, positively the full tunnel with wires and the tracks. What a perfect shot...I predict, it will cause me to be ever envious. How the hell did I miss that?! So glad you were paying attention!!!

Upvoted & resteemed wholeheartedly!!!

You mean the 8th photo?

Да! Да! Да!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @brentssanders to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

omg!! The one with all the wires and tunnel is very beautiful.. and by the way what a mess they are there ! High risk of choosing the wrong one for maintenance

Yes, I'm so glad I don't work there :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60