[Photography] Visual impression from a lunch at Som Thai restaurant on Place Jourdan, Brussels

in #photgraphy7 years ago (edited)

2017_0608_12360000.jpg

During today's lunchbreak, I stopped at Som Thai, a rather inconspicuous looking restaurant just off the square reputed to sell the best fries in Brussels. Undeterred by the fact that I was the only guest (it was just before midday, so quite early), and no staff to be seen either, I sat by the window. Soon a smiling and very friendly Thai lady appeared as if out of nowhere and wanted to get me the menu. I said I'm already decided, and just told her what I'd like, and she gladly obliged. She explained that momentarily she's having to manage the whole place alone - everything from cooking to serving to cleaning up, her man having left her, so she's now looking for an assistant. She quickly added: "She must hard working and... good person, esepecially good person, to make no trouble." Then she smiled again, and scurried away into the kitchen. Through a narrow passage way, I could sometimes catch a glimpse of her preparing my food with incredible speed. It was all ready in no time...

2017_0608_12352000(2).jpg

What about the food itself? I took a spicy soup with scampi and lemon-grass, and outright burning chicken with hot green chilli coconut sauce and a double portion of vegetables. My throat was burning, tears welling in my eyes and even water running from my nose... but I couldn't deny that the food tasted delicious and seemed very authentic. By the time I was leaving, the place was filling up with people, and I wasn't surprised.

IMG_20170608_123638.jpg
IMG_20170608_125333.jpg

Before leaving, I stopped by to admire the owner's Buddhist shrine area dedicated to the Buddha, Dharma, and the Masters. It was generously, to our western eyes perhaps somewhat haphazardly adorned with all manner of statues of human and animal forms, garlands, fruits and pictures, and contributed to the overall authentic feel of the place. The owner explained to me that her Master's shrine actually has a branch somewhere in a village in Belgium. Almost sounds like an inspiration for a little day trip out of Brussels one day during this summer!

IMG_20170608_132459.jpg

Something is telling me it might not be the last time that I eat at this nice little place.

Sort:  

Thank you @alicemarie. Hope to share more visual impressions from my daily life. And enjoying looking at your own work!

I look forward to seeing them. I am not a very good photographer but I love to see the photos.

Really nice photos! I don't understand how people can get great shots like that. Whenever I take photos, It looks like I was using a potato for a camera. P.S. That sounds a little too spicy. lol

Hahaha. Thanks for the comment. Maybe you do have a potato of a camera. But it's true that I usually use manual settings, which sometimes lets me make the most of prevailing lighting conditions (such as in this generally dim restaurant with one window at the back of the kitchen). However, the food itself was taken with a simple phone, so no rocket science there. I also felt like it is too hot when eating it btw, but somehow, looking back at it, I wouldn't mind trying it again. Maybe I'm getting hooked ;-)

I love your combination of writing and great visuals. I am definitely following now. Consider letting your followers know about you, by using the introduceyourself tag. It would get you more "exposure".

Congratulations @cloudzombie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58194.53
ETH 2364.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37