Do Gaming Phones Make Sense?

in #phones4 years ago

I use my phone for many things. In fact, my phone is at the core of my daily activities. It connects me to people, manages emails, and lets me edit or read documents plus lots more. The mobile phone is a portable computing powerhouse that is packaged wonderfully. Life would be very different without a mobile phone. As a longstanding mobile user, when I see the term gaming phone used, I get a little confused.

Back when Nokida made the N Gage, I was impressed. It had a collection of exclusive games and was pretty much dedicated to gaming. As phones have progressed, we still gaming phones but I feel they offer very little extra to make them a viable choice for any phone user or gamer for that matter. With flagship phones pushing the boundaries of performance, phones like the Asus ROG Phone II aren’t an attractive offering, even if I was madly into high performance mobile gaming. Gaming phones carry respectable specs but I can’t help but feel that gaming phones are simply a marketing angle in a saturated market that companies fail to innovate or deliver value in. Higher refresh rates are the norm and the SoC are the same.

Gaming phones look exactly as you might expect. They are aesthetically loud with large vents that serve no purpose. It might accompany a gaming chair nicely at home but as a gaming phone, it doesn’t really perform much above any flagship. In fact, looking for bang for buck, it’s quite possible to get an equal or better performing phone for less money in a look at that is more in line with something simple and sleek. If you’re serious about gaming, perhaps it’s best to invest into a better phone for your everyday life or even switch platform altogether. With budgets nearing the four digit mark, a gaming experience can be much better. It is a matter of personal choice of course but these are just my own thoughts.

Lockhart Tech Blogs

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

It is certain

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59943.96
ETH 2421.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43