The Old Dog Reveals: Ok, Ok, I Admit it, I Have a Phobia!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #phobia6 years ago (edited)

Spiders creep me out! Does that make me less of a man? Hmmm I wonder? but....

Perhaps I've found at least a partial solution. Let me explain.


I took this shot in my garden yesterday but how can having taken it help me?

What is a Phobia Anyway?


I give way to an online dictionary

"An extreme or irrational fear of or aversion to something" 


Using this as a definition perhaps I don't have phobia. Let's look at the two adjectives describing the aversion

1.) extreme: I wouldn't call my aversion extreme. It's not like I run away from them screaming but when there is one in my house I want it out....now! Grab a jar, trap it and out it goes. Ok, Ok sometimes I squish them!

2.) irrational: I think maybe I have a good reason for MY aversion. Some spiders bite and some are even poisonous. When I was 10 years old my parents sent me to a summer camp. In the middle of the night one of the other boys woke up screaming. He had been bitten by a spider and a welt the size of a halved orange grew on his arm. Off to to the emergency room he went leaving the rest of us dazed, confused and scared! Don't ask if I slept that night!

So I ask, is my aversion irrational? I think not!

So Then What's my Partial Solution?


I say partial becasue I'm not expecting a miracle cure but surely I should improve! So here's what I have in mind:


  1. Gain more knowledge. I need to be able to identify all the types of spiders to know if they bite and whether the bite is poisonous or not. 
  2. I need to have more appreciation. After all, some of their webs are amazing creations and when you look at them up close as in my photo above there is a lot of beauty there!


Here is The Other Side of The Same Spider!


Yes there is beauty there as well and I can admire this creature's handy work.


What Do You Say?

  • Do you have any phobias?
  • Have you been able to overcome any?
  • Can you identify the spider shown above?


Until next time,  

  
@kus-knee (The Old Dog) 

Let's Succeed Together

Sort:  

This was a big spider I found in the wood

IMG_20171114_125211.jpg

IMG_20171114_124407.jpg

Beautiful, in a creepy way. We’re you scared?

No, we had a photo shooting togheter.... she was also not scared at all :-)))

If you took those pic you're surely on a good way to win your phobia! :)

Let’s hope so!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm here for the prize.

Just kidding.

Yes I have a phobia, and I got mine in a similar fashion to how you got yours.

As a child I used to go visit my father's friends at a local University. Several of us children would go up and down the elevator all day long. There was a little tiny window on that elevator.

I ended up getting stuck in that elevator for something like 6 hours. The little window was just barely showing so that I could see out of it but nobody could see in to know that I was in there. To this day I can not stand confined spaces. I think a lot of the phobias that we have are actually based on incidents that happened during childhood.

However, just recognizing them doesn't mean you can make them go away.

Liked your story. I'll give you a nice upvote as a prize!

Hurray! That is a good prize!

Well yes I have a phobia for spiders too , I just don’t like the scary body the legs , so actually I really don’t like them and they scare me 😳, I probably scare them too 😊

Good to know that I’m not alone!

Not fond of spiders or snakes @kus-knee... but are they are probably not true phobias; more likely experiential, based on when we lived in Kenya when I was little and the crawly critters were really dangerous.

I remember once the groundskeeper came to the front door looking alarmed and told us "There's a black mamba in the house!" In due course, a 7-foot snake was extracted... the venom can kill an adult in 20 minutes and they are pretty aggressive....

Now YOU have stories to tell. A black mamba in the house!

I don't think you have a phobia. It is normal not to like certain things, beings ... some to provoke fear! Some are afraid of knives.
Nor do I like certain beings, especially insects. I think that many people have this embarrassment.
It is not accidental that most horror films are used insects ...
Your questions:

  1. I do not think I have a real phobia
  2. Fear of height ... I'm struggling with it.
  3. This is a spider with a cross, I do not know the scientific name. It has a cross on the back and the net that weave is specific. The bite is quite painful.
    I have some in the garden and we can ignore each other. Of course I could remove them but I think everyone has the right to his life. (I fight with my wife who has a spider phobia and would like to kill everyone)

Thanks for your great answers and encouragement!

My pleasure. It was an exciting posting and an unexpected subject but close to the events of our lives. It is especially challenging for readers to answer questions. I like.

I love the photos, they are great!! I don't fear spiders, but I will not play with them or handle them with my hands. My wife was bitten by an unknown spider (we did not even see it, but the doctor said it was a spider bite) and ended up in hospital and a lot of infection in the wound, she still has a rather big scar where the wound formed.

You're scaring me! You are wise not to handle them. Poor wife of yours!

@kus-knee,
Actually I can't identify that spiders, belongs that that sub domain and etc! But I could tell you, when I am at the topic of Spider yeah I agree it's something near to phobias situation!
I hate this creature, moreover I can't overcome that fear, so I am going into aggressive mode when it happens! Finally it might be the end of life story of that spider! So it's better I avoid them as much as I can! It works, coz I won't hurt them, but my fear could corner me into do something bad on them!
By the way it's a nice photography, but I hate it!

Cheers~

"I can't overcome that fear, so I am going into aggressive mode when it happens!"

I understand!

Great Question sir @kus-knee.

  1. Yes, I have a phobia. My phobia is centipede
  2. I overcame my fear by cleaning the places favored by the Centipede.
  3. I have searching on google and I guess the type of spider is Araneus diadematus Diadem.

Am I right sir ?

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't know what type it is but I'll check what you found.

I am in Europe, it was in my garden and it looks like the one that you mentioned.

https://www.tradebit.com/filedetail.php/147671005v7882581-diadem-spider-cross-spider-european-garden-spider

If you comment here I'll give you another upvote!

I have chek you link sir, but I dont understand to play. How to comment there sir ? Forgive me.

Posted using Partiko Android

No just comment here and you did it!

I see, but about what I see in tradebit. I love your photography about bare tree and blue sky. https://www.tradebit.com/filedetail.php/239010921v8802209-bare-tree-against-a-blue-sky

I must learn again to understand blockchain world more like you. You have earn much in this world. Very interesting. 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟.

Sir, if you dont mind. May I screenshot and put your name as evidence in my writting next about "Positive Comment and Appreciation Then". I think this is important to me and to friends.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much sir @kus-knee. God bless you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Excuse me sir @kus-knee, with your permission before in our last conversation, I have an article talking about photography world and I mention you there. If you have a time, I am very hope you to come and give some correction. God bless you

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't have a phobia about spiders but after seeing that thing I could get one pretty quick! My feelings about spiders is that dead spiders don't bite!!!

Haha good one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73