The Life And Times of a Phlebotomist

in #phlebotomoy7 years ago

Phlebotomist AKA Vampire
I work in a Blood clinic .. taking blood from patients for a variety of reasons and tests . Despite what it involves I never have the same day twice. There are so many challenges . Patients who are needle phobic. Patients who faint. Patients who see you are taking 3 viles and declare 'oh my god that's almost a pint your taking from me!' ( I'm guessing they don't buy milk or have it delivered??? )
Patients who have unusual rhyming first names and surnames ? Patients who have ummm rude surnames . Patients who have unpronounceable surnames . Patients who smell very badly , like they have not showered in weeks. Patients who ask you 'Do you know what your doing? And will you please make sure you find a vein straight away, and by the way I don't have good veins and it usually take them 3 attempts .' 😳
Patients who come to the drop in service , take a number and after two minutes of waiting walk in to where you are taking blood from another patient demanding to know how much longer they are going to have to wait?
All this aside ... as strange as it may seem I do actually love my job!
Yes it was hard not to laugh calling Mrs Sourbutts... but I did it! Yes seeing 150 patients in 4 hours between 3 of us is fast paced , and you don't get time for a wee or get to drink your coffee whilst it's still hot. The constant hand washing can dry your skin ( but I have a good moisturiser) but it feels so good when even just one of those patients tells you .. 'You made me feel really relaxed ... I didn't even feel it' or 'I was so nervous but that was great I didn't even notice it' that makes it all worth while to me.

Sort:  

Hey there nhswarrior, welcome to steemit!!!

Lots and lots to see and do ;)
-upvoted!

~thedamus

Good article

Congratulations @nhswarrior! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nhswarrior! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94