ANTI-PHISPHING

in #phishing6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180411_132524.jpg
PHISHING
Firstly when I heard phishing I was really surprised thinking it was the act of hunting fishes. I think they are not really far apart cos on phishing sites you are baited like an actual fish.
But when u fall I don't know if u are called a Phish.....
Phishing really is one of the reasons people are very skeptical when they are browsing site cos u can't really trust anyone. Plus this guys get better at their game by making improvement and making it harder to detect and get unto them.

Phishing
Phishing involves trying to con in other to obtain vital data or information such as usernames, passwords, money for fraudulent reasons by acting as a normal individual who may try to be offering victims help. a homophone of fishing due to the similarity of using a bait in an attempt to get a victim.

TYPES OF PHISHING

Phishing by deception.
This involves deceiving users by pretending to be reliable and trusted organizations which the individuals may have accounts with. This is the most frequent for of phishing and phishers make it sound urgent.
IMG_20180411_132504.jpg
Ceo phishing
Involves targeting individuals in an organization mostly highly ranked ones.
Trying to get to the using mails. They normal aim at the CEO because they can transfer money and make transactions on the companies behalf.
IMG_20180411_132431.jpg
Pharming
In this case the pharmer targets a DNS server and changes the IP address of the website.He therefore can redirects users to a malicious website of their choice even if the victims entered in the correct website name and won't suspect it . Therefore using his actual login details.

Inbox or email phishing
This type of phishing involves using emails. The phisher sends an email to the victims trying to obtain vital documents from him.

MY EXPERIENCE ON PHISHING
I have had several experiences but most have been the deceptive when am asked to give my bank details for upgrades. Or received false mails.
Actually I panicked at first but I was lucky as I called my banks line to confirm. I later discovered it was a way to get my bank details which might not profit them then cos I was broke....

WAYS TO REDUCE PHISHING
IMG_20180411_132448.jpg
Trust no one : when you are accessing the net, do not give away information like password, username and your wallet or account details.

Try to verify from your banks and other bodies when you receive messages nd emails.

Report any act of phishing to help other users.

Employees of an organization should all be trained to observe security measures and safeguard details.

During my research on phishing based on my knowledge I made use of....@Wikipedia @tripwire to obtain facts.
Thanks @simplymike i now have a better knowledge on phisphing and to help steemians avoid feeding phiphers .
Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Congratulations @kamiikazer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thanks @steemitboard am just getting a feeling you guys are my number one fan. 😊

You have a very interesting post @kamiikazer. Your introductory sentence kept me through out the post.

Firstly when I heard phishing I was really surprised thinking it was the act of hunting fishes.

I also have some experiences on attempted phishing. Bank and email but I have never fallen prey.

Thanks for this lovely write up.
@antigenx

Thank you so very much am really happy you appreciate my work. It is a gift to write i try my best to make the most of it...@antigenx

Thanks, @kamiikazer.
I really appreciate you are helping to spread the word.

Could you please add a link to my contest post somewhere in your article as a reference in case people want some more information?

Owk am on it..... Hope you like my work. Someone told me its something..@simplymike

very good and @simplymike will love this... You should enter it into her contest, go check out her blog

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55