FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION includes the license to offend, DO NOT SHUSH ME!

in #philosophy6 years ago
A free society needs free speech and it needs freedom of expression through art. Without that, we can not say that we are free and freedom is something I take really seriously. It is one of those things that I will always defend. Living in the country that I do and in the time that I do, one would think that I am free. Am I really? I try to be and I try to keep my zen state of mind in check as often as I can but then stupid people come and my aggressive side comes out to the surface. Happy fairy grows horns and wants to bite. It is a natural defensive mechanism, better that than hiding in a hole and crying. Why? Because there is nothing more sacred to me than my freedom and when I sense that someone is trying to shush me... Well, let's just say that I do not like being shushed...


Royality free photo, Pixabay, author: geralt, adapted by me

To provide you with some helpful context; I live in a European country and I live in the capital of it, the year is 2018. Plays in theaters are canceled because they offend certain people, music concerts and exhibitions are canceled because they offend certain people and even flowers are being destroyed because they are not in the right shape and color, I kid you not, a man came with a tractor and destroyed the red flowers that were planted in one city. Terrified yet? Online world and nature are my escapes from the harsh reality I live in. Sometimes George Orwell's 1984 comes to mind and I just want to run away from all the idiots I am surrounded with.

Free speech is the right to seek, receive and impart information and ideas of all kinds, by any means.'

Amnesty International

In cases where our opinion does not lead to an objective harm, we are free to express ourselves however we please and should not be censored by anyone anytime. There is some criticism to this that says how offending is a type of harm and should, therefore, be banned in some way. This is a slippery slope because people are diverse in their nature.

People often allow their inner insulted child to come out. We all have that child inside us that wants to defend our mom when someone calls her stupid but there is a difference between those that know how to silence that child and talk to it and those that just allow it to run free. Different people get offended by different things but that will never stop me from speaking about those things or criticizing them. It is impossible to censor every idea that offends someone because that would mean we should stop talking, all of us.

Freedom of speech is the freedom to criticise ideas, philosophies, and opinions. How would we ever address bad ideas and bad things that are going on if we have to worry our words would hurt those they are directed at? Sure, there are demeaning opinions that come from ignorance and their intention is to hurt but do you really think that denying people to express their offensive views will make those views go away? It will not. We have to challenge those opinions with rational thinking and facts. We have to educate people and teach them how to participate in the discussion.

Things that are causing the most problems are religion and nationality (at least in my country). Many religions are enforcing opinions and views on people and they hold great power over them. Challenging those views is ensuring safety and freedom. We should always question everything and fight against propaganda about universal truths and blind faith. Well, if you want to believe in something blindly, go right ahead, I do not have any problem with that but what I do have a problem with is when people get offended when I say that is stupid. Why does my opinion offend you? You can call me stupid and it will not offend me and you know why? Because I am not emotionally attached to your opinion and I do not base my sense of value as a human being on acceptance and approval of others. You should try that. Instead of screaming at me or trying to shush me when I say something you do not agree with, try not take things so personally. Not everything in this world revolves around you. Nothing really does. This is how you look when you try to silence those that you do not approve of:



Royality free photo, Pixabay,
author: Pezibear

You look like an angry little child and the more you raise your voice the more you lose the respect anyone has for you. Maybe it is time to grow up.

There are people who are on a mission to offend. They do it on purpose and that purpose is to provoke. They are saying things just because they can without any need for it and are going around insulting people with an intent to insult with horrible words. That is childish too, childish and dangerous. Whenever a woman lies about being raped she undermines the suffering of those that did had that experience and she is with that lie destroying all that others are fighting for. Same goes for so-called "free speech fighters". By going around and insulting people because you want to insult them to prove a point how you have the right to say whatever you want by justification with free speech, you are doing the opposite. You are killing free speech and undermining everything that free speech is about.



Royality free photo, Pixabay,
author: emyzario

Free speech
is not hate speech!

Hate speech is not the same as free speech. Hate speech has the intention to cause harm. Free speech can criticise but it has nothing to do with hate and violence. When someone says we should kill all ____ (insert whatever religion or nationality), that is hate speech, but when someone uses sarcasm or makes a satiric play, that is free speech. Art is expressing the right of free speech. Do not shush artists, never shush artists.

Whatever you do, please do not be a hypocrite. Can you take a joke? Can you handle criticism? It is easy to promote free speech when you are the one talking but harder when people are talking about you, right? It should not be. Where is your confidence and the wish to improve yourself?

Welcome criticism,
it will help you improve yourself.

I think people have become too sensitive nowadays and get offended too easily. All philosophies, religions, political parties and all people should be confident enough to invite inquiry and criticism. To paraphrase Voltaire:

“I disagree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.”

Just because we do not agree with something does not mean we should censor it and you know why? By censoring those you do not agree with you are allowing others to censor you when they do not agree with you. It is a two-way thing, it always was and it always will be. If you value your freedom, value others too. I am responsible for what I say but not for your feelings about it. If you are offended by my words, art or actions, that is your problem, not mine. Find a way to deal with it. My opinion is just that, an opinion and I have the right to have it just like you have the right for yours. Do not shush me, whatever you do, do not try to shush me, ever...

Until next time,
KEEP YOUR SMILE ON!

What do you think? Should we compromise our freedom of speech so we do not offend people by it? Should we stop criticising and expressing ourselves through art and satire?

Image sources :

- line divider that I use is from FREE CLIPART LIBRARY, and is here
- images of titles are made by me using the image from pixabay that can be found here
- every image used in the post is free for commercial use and it has a source under it
- my bitmoji avatar was created on https://www.bitmoji.com/, visit the site to create yourown

PROUD MEMBER OF:


@steemitbloggers

Sort:  

I agree completely. There have been many disturbing cases here in the States recently where free speech has been criticized. The latest is the poem How To, which was written by a white poet and published in The Nation. It used a form of African American Vernacular English. There was so much outrage from the African American community that The Nation's editors and the poet apologized. It seems they thought he did a poor job with the language, even though his intent was good. One writer even said that people should stay in their lane, suggesting that writers only write about things they have experienced. This means that a male cannot write a story with females, etc. In end, I took the reaction as largely racist and an attempt to stop free speech. Those who have been oppressed should really know better, but we see this kind of oppression more and more from all sorts of directions and groups (right and left, politically) these days. It is truly disturbing.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

It is disturbing, I find it horrible that people have become really really too sensitive these days. It almost seems like they are waiting to be offended, looking everywhere for it and just wanting to start some sort of fight. Thank you for sharing your view on this 💚

Hi @zen-art! This is just to let you know that...

You got SNEKKED!
Because we love your post!!

You Got Snekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content, share a happy moment, & some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post and possibly an image from it in our 24th curation compilation if you don't mind! If you don't want to be featured, please let us know!

You can find us on Discord -:

https://discord.gg/VWJxTEz

Thank you for the love snekk team, it is very much appreciated 💚

Free speech matters. I may not agree with what someone is expressing, but I agree that it's their right to be able to say what's on their mind.

Friend of mine has a "free speech display" in a public space here in town and all got shut down by the city... they got away with it by saying that he was free to display what he wanted, as long as he complied with a city ordnance that no display can take up more than a 2x6 foot space.

hahahaha, they found a way to shut him down lol. Sometimes it is funny how they still try to pretend that they are not censoring but people are smarter than that. I am sorry to hear about what happened to your friend and hope that he will find another way to express himself. Thank you for sharing your experience on this 💚

destroyed red flowers with a tractor!!!!! wow!

I love your mind and I love your boldness to speak! :) I've been missing your presence - i hope i see you today at TOTL!!! :)

Sorry I missed the TOTL, I was at the cinema with friends. I am glad you enjoyed the post honey, thank you 💚

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

It is always lovely to see you little love bug 💚💚💚

❤ Thank You @zen-art

ot58a6067e.gif

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

and I am glad to be a member and proud of the community 💚

I used to think I lived in a free country. This recent incident, where a man living in a town near where I live was fined for publishing a satirical video in which he tried to train his girlfriend's dog to do a Nazi salute, shows how Orwellian our society has become. The fact that the man stated in the video that Nazis were "the least cute things he could think of"; the fact that he made another video in which he apologised profusely for any offence his video may have caused; the fact that he was once a supporter of the militant left-wing group Antifa did not deter the judge from fining him £800 for making a satirical video. And last week he lost his appeal. Unfortunately, causing offence actually is now a criminal offence under Scottish law. And we are a country that used to burn witches a few centuries back, so I hate to think what might be round the corner!

Sometimes I think that Orwell was a prophet and it scares me but I try to stay positive and I do see a lot more people being for free speech than against it. It is almost like we are being controlled by the sensitive minority. Thank you for sharing your views on this 💚

It is very scary. I don't think we're being controlled by the sensitive minority – I think the authorities are using the sensitive minority as a means of controlling the rest of us.

Congratulations @zen-art! This post was selected by the @steemitbloggers community as today's Member Boost Post :) It will also receive a complimentary upvote from @Appreciator throughout the course of the day!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our Steemit Bloggers FB Page and Twitter feed.

Thank you for the support, it is very appreciated 💚

This is such a good speech!!

Thank you 💚

Most welcome!

Love this post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99