You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The value of studying Philosophy

in #philosophy6 years ago

Ran across your post just now. I studied a phd (didn't finish) and MA (did finish) in Anthropology. I studied a lot of philosophy and got a lot of "what are you going to do with that". At the time, though my studies were very interesting, I didn't see any use for it in the "real world".

But, then, I left academia and found a job in the tech industry. Today, I know that it was kinda like the Karate Kid training - seemingly pointless but when it comes down to it studying philosophy provides you a foundation to understand everything.

I have been successful in bringing new perspectives and ideas to where I work and that is thanks to the worldviews I developed while studying.

You can learn more "practical" disciplines but what is useful when you enter school can be obsolete by the time you get out. Especially, in tech. However, the philosophical principles I learned have been priceless and will always be useful.

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment. I'm also working in the tech industry now, and notice a competitive edge of philosophy as well. It's easier to learn the tech (I am in) than learning to ask good questions and to have new perspectives.

Ditto here! It's the best undergrad degree, as far as I'm concerned. It prepares your mind and heart for a very messy world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63916.19
ETH 3461.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50