The worst decision in life is to make no decision!

in #philosophy7 years ago

One wise man once told me that most of the people in the world are afraid to make decisions and just live their floats through the lives without ever stepping up. "And that's the worst decision a human-baing can make," he added.

If you are afraid to make decisions when someone else will do it for you... and you won't like it.

I am always fascinated to see people being afraid of some drastic changes. "I would love to do it but [insert shitty excuse here]," they keep repeating. What are the most popular decisions that people have to make? I can think of two - with whom to create a family and what to do for a living. I bet that we all had thoughts about those questions.

Imagine a person who is in the toxic relationship but cannot end it because he is afraid of things that might or might not happen. I bet it is easy to do think of such person because at least 80 percent of relationships are like that according to a research made by the Harvard scientists. Another research showed that when a person supports his arguments with random research made by unexisting scientists, that person usually makes it all up. Anyway, what I wanted to say was:

A lot of people have this ugly fetish to hurt themselves by being afraid to stand for themselves.

And the more I think, the less sorry I feel for people who cannot make their own decisions. Those people choose to stay in an environment that slowly killing them instead of standing up and going through the doors to some new beginnings. Those people blame everyone for their misery and pain, but don't seem to grasp the idea that it is them who cannot make even the simplest decision.

It is always hard to change, especially when it is for the better. That's human nature I guess.

I have made my fair share of decisions lately and I can say that I have never felt better in my life than now. However, to make some of the decisions, which meant getting rid of some beautiful delusions and comfort, was the hardest task in my life. I did it and now I am happy. I wish I could know how to tell people to listen to their deepest thoughts and not be afraid to act accordingly. After all, we always face consequences for our actions, so why not make those actions worthwhile to remember? The only bad decision is to avoid making one. So don't do it, please!

Sort:  

I'm about to make some decision. After I cook these french fries!

Too funny! Lmfao!

haha, good one

Analysis Paralysis is a killer, especially when combined with ambivalence, indifference, and low self-esteem.

It is very true that if you don't take a step towards what you want, you end up trying to avoid what you don't, which inevitably takes you towards those very things you don't desire.

Persistence, patience, and proactivity can ultimately overcome procrastination and passitivity. (I like aliteration sometimes)

Thanks for the post!

You are welcome! Yeah, the biggest paradox is that by not making decisions because we fear to end up in some shitty situation, we put ourselves in that shitty situation by default

Very nice, Will be looking forward to your posts.
up-voted :-)

RightWithin

The worst thing that can happen to you is nothing at all. If nothing happens to you then you have no experience to learn from.

Yup! I still prefer good things to happen to me rather than bad things, tho haha

This reminds me of a quote...

"The most successful people are the ones who have the difficult conversations."

When I first heard that, I did not like it. Difficult conversations suck! But lately, it feels very true, and it relates to what you are saying here - you can follow your life where it takes you, but then you might end up somewhere lame. Being willing to say NO and do your version of life, it's not easy... but it can be so valuable.

Well, nothing is easy in this world, but I believe we have a choice to shape our destiny in a better direction and enjoy those hard moments. It is so hard to say NO, I know, but sometimes you have to.

I know all about that I stayed in my situation for over 2 decades ...and my consequence was taking a toll on my health ...now I am making decisions for myself. ..thanks for sharing @writingamigo :) :) Kayleigh

Oh wow, I am glad you could get yourself out of that unhealthy circle! Hope you are much well now!

Thank You very much @writingamigo...each day gets better and better :) :) Kayleigh

I had always been the type of person who ended up frozen when it came to decision making. I am finally changing that aspect of myself though. Being less afraid. It's an extremely liberating feeling.

True, whatever decision I end up making, I always feel happy about it because I know that I did my best under the given circumstances. And that is already a lot.

Making decisions puts the POWER in our hands and not someone else's. I made a big decision to movr from New York to Texas four years ago and I am so happy I did! FEAR is what keeps us from making decisions to change our lives. In essence, it's better to look back at your life and have NO REGRETS. Great post!

Yup, regrets stop us from making good decisions in the present. I am glad you moved to Texas if it makes you feel good!

Cool HDR photo

Thanks! That is one of my fav photos. It looks amazing as an avatar haha

Upvoted & RESTEEMED :]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95