You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SILENT GRIEF

in #philosophy5 years ago

You are correct; we try to distance ourselves as far away from death as possible. No one wants to think about the possibility.

Knowing that people care is something I guess even if one wants to be alone. It definitely helps knowing that people care enough to say they words. It just doesn't stink in most times.

There a lot of things we do not want to talk about as if saying them aloud would give them flesh and power over us. I guess silence has more power than words.

Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate all of you. This is by far the largest interaction I have had on steemit ever. It is an awesome thing to experience. I think I will write a post on it.

Sort:  

I guess silence has more power than words.

Sometimes, I guess that's true. Recently I've had two friends whose husbands passed away suddenly. The shock was terrible for them, but they both say how much they appreciate people just simply talking about their guys instead of ignoring it altogether because they think it's too difficult for the person grieving. Death really can't be the big white elephant in the room that everyone is desperately trying to ignore, but it's just too big and obvious...it's there. Period. You know? Maybe we worry too much about saying the right thing, when really all the grieving person needs is acknowledgement of the person gone.

On a much more positive note, isn't awesome when you hit upon a topic that creates such conversation here?! I'm glad it happened to you :)

It so awesome. One of the best interactions I have had on my posts ever.

Maybe we worry too much about saying the right thing, when really all the grieving person needs is acknowledgement of the person gone.

You are correct. Acknowledging the passing of the person is all that is needed. Sharing some of the burden of being left behind in grief too is important. I feel a grieving person needs mostly to know that their late loved one was loved and is missed. People do this in diverse ways and most would rather speak.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34