You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is it good to be a highly moral person?

in #philosophy6 years ago

Completely agree with @awakedev up there.

I think all people, absolutely all, are good and bad depending on the circumstances, curious to put the image of Heisenberg, why Breaking Bad is exactly that, in fact, Bryan Cranstron makes an excellent explanation.

The culture of a society is based exactly on labeling things as good or bad, and making customs, the laws were created precisely from the attitude and culture of the people, if in X place they considered that having a dog was bad, then they created a law that prohibited people from having dogs.

That is why multiculturalism ends up breaking all laws, because you have a social disagreement where there is no general consensus that it is good and that it is bad.

A person may be acting in a way that he considers morally correct, while others think his attitude is deplorable. Morality is actually a fiction, but a necessary fiction to be able to coexist in society. You said that people should always think about the cost / benefit, I think that is the attitude that all people have always, in another publication of yours we were talking about exactly how people seek their own benefit without true altruism. I think that in the particular case that you described, all the people would take the water by force, because they would be responding to a basic need.

No doubt there were many things left to add, but I do not want to dwell here and make a pamphlet. In any case, it seemed to me an excellent publication and of enough quality, like all yours that I have seen so far. Greetings.

Sort:  

Hi @vieira,

I like what Cranstron said, "you always have to try to find humanity in a man", I always like to hear statements that remind of positive views. I agree with you, Cranstron and @awkedev that circumstances and culture play a huge part in person's ethics and the eventual breaking of those ethics.

"A person may be acting in a way that he considers morally correct, while others think his attitude is deplorable." - In the article, I was referring to acting in a way that that the person considers morally correct, but I failed to explain that very well.

"You said that people should always think about the cost / benefit, I think that is the attitude that all people have always, in another publication of yours we were talking about exactly how people seek their own benefit without true altruism." - One of the topics that interest me a lot is how to make a balance between personal gains and altruism. I think we all want and need both. But the philosophy behind these needs and their balance tickles my mind.

Thanks a lot for the thoughtful comment, I'm very glad I've already found Steemians who find my thoughts engaging and make an effort to improve and expand them.

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68293.69
ETH 3899.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69