You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you believe in Heaven?

in #philosophy6 years ago

I love this! I love discussions about religion, and kudos to you for questioning and following your own heart and mind on this subject. It can be really hard when people you love feel that way. They are scared for you! One way I explain things to people that I think might be helpful for you in making peace with your dad on this topic is this: I think of religions like languages. If I meet someone who is Spanish and they point to the sky and say "cielo," if I didn't know any better, I'd say they were wrong and ignorant. It's "sky!" But in their language they use different words to talk about things. I think religion is the same. We use different stories and ideas to talk about the same truth that is bigger than our human minds can fully comprehend. And the way we know what is right for us is by listening to our hearts. In your dad's heart, he believes that if he doesn't accept Jesus he will go to hell; that is true for him. But in your heart you believe that if you are a good person that is enough. Divinity speaks directly to our hearts in a language only we can understand. It may look wrong from the outside, but so does a foreign word to our native ears.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49