Mindfulness MONDAY!!! - I think? No...Don't OVER THINK...just read

in #philosophy6 years ago

Mindfulness Mondays.jpeg

Sorry for last week guys. I thought I had everything worked out as to what I was going to post on. However, I did not think getting a tooth pulled would have made me so loopy or be as painful as it was. In fact....still is. Thank you @beckieg for reminding me about solfeggio tones. I used the 174 like you suggested and it definitely eased up the pain. I was able to take a 4 hour nap without having to take medication.

27331556_734009996792299_5138890750213124152_n.jpgImage Source

elegant-1769669__340.png

So our last 'serious' session we talked about how FEAR is one of our controlling emotions that through mindfulness we take our control back. Don't get me wrong, Fear has its benefits, but when it controls your daily activities that's when it's a problem.

From FEAR we're going to move to OVERTHINKING. FEAR and OVERTHINKING can go hand-in-hand, but they can be separate too. Overthinking usually is when that criticizing voice in your head, telling you that you're not good enough, it fills you with self doubt and feeds off the fear of failure. When you have to look at the smallest activity through every angle, that is a really good sign your overthinking is out of control. When you can't make a simple decision without worrying about the outcome, your overthinking is out of control.

head-overthink-quotes-205x300.jpgImage Source

elegant-1769669__340.png

How many of us have had those nights, your brain is running 100 mph "I should have done this?" "I knew the answer to that question, why did I answer that way?" "Why do I always second guess myself"
"My husband didn't kiss me goodnight before he went to bed. I must have done something to upset him." Or you have little mini movies that playback through the day's events as though your mind is trying to show you how dumb you are? Yeah, I could go on but, I think you catch the drift. I know for a lot of us, we don't even have to be asleep for this to take place, that if you give yourself a moment of silence it starts up.

elegant-1769669__340.png

What do you do? How do you handle yourself in one of these situations? Do you lay in bed tossing and turning, telling your brain to shut up? Do you drink enough until you're numb enough you can't hear those thoughts? Do you take drugs (legal or illegal) to again main your mind numb enough, nothing bothers you? Do you stay busy so your mind is incapable of thinking of anything more than the task at hand?

elegant-1769669__340.png

Since we know this is Mindfulness Monday...we know what the correct answer is...practice mindfulness. You can't make the thoughts go away. You can take control of how you process the information and deal with the issues. I know for me this is crucial, if I don't get my thoughts under control, I usually enter a depression. When I am at that point my anxiety is high, my self doubt is high, So then the other thought start creeping in. You remember those thoughts. The ones we've always been told are bad. We talk about these quite a bit. Why to pound it into all of our heads...It is normal to have thoughts, it's what you do with them that matter. So when you overthinking mind starts to make you questions everything you've done you need to remind it about the good things. "You're a failure, you didn't graduate from college and you have an absolutely horrible job" My response " I would not have 2 beautiful children, I would not have met my current husband, I would not have the friends I have now.' "Your life should be different." 'I am thankful for what I do have' and remind myself what I am doing to make things better.

I find self soothing exercises don't help me too much to 'turn' off my brain. That is where I personally have adopted a more creative approach. I started to color. No not little kids colors or coloring books. Adult books, using colored pencils, markers, gel pen. Some of them use adult language some don't. There are mandalas, there are animals, people of all types, phrases and so forth. I could not believe the world I walked into. When I find I need to shut down the multitude of thoughts to focus on an activity has been best for me. In this part, I also started (learning) how to paint again another very focused thing for me. I find the creativity in both push my mind to think differently. Now for some of you, it may seem silly, but we all have a part that wants to 'release' itself. Some people love to read,crochet, knit, garden (even though that's a little more seasonal) put together puzzles, do word puzzles and so forth. For some mediation works well at this point. If I'm at this point...I usually can't focus enough to tune out the thoughts and meditate or read.

Here are a few samples of my 'glorious'work

20160416_205259-1 shrunk.jpg15095074_10154710029459481_2597548150675145757_n small.jpg

shrunk mandala.jpgpurple passion dream catcher.jpg

Remember these are things that I have worked through with my therapist to gain a better understanding of things. If I can help anyone to not succumb to the games our minds play on us and help others to learn they aren't what their mind or others say they are then this is worth it.

manna banner.jpg
Want to earn universal basic income (UBI) ?

nrd_banner.png
Newbie Resteem Day

DQmNxffi1eUnRnRUo97KC54WZh7m3pyRNfNNj59ou4ubLyE.png
SGG - Steemit Greeters Guild

Steemit Together.jpg

sig.jpg

Sort:  

hiya, you're very welcome, i am glad to hear you got some rest and relief, i love the moon and tree picture, i believe in and practise what is normally called overthinking however for me it is something i choose to do and i kind of think it is a good exercise usually if i devote myself hermit-like to what situation is causing me stress then i keep thinking until i come up with a solution, the key to it, for me, is to only permit myself critical thinking, i let myself think (usually with a solfeggio) and by the next day or longer depending how difficult situation is i will have a solution, i try to keep my ego/emotion/fear out of the thinking as i can get emotional :) and fearful :) i stick to logic and critical and it helps me, not sure if this works for anyone else everyone has their own way of dealing with stuff, wishing you a peaceful day much respect

I love that idea. I am still working on keep the emotions out of it, we're getting there.

My old way of dealing with overthinking was letting it control me. It wasn't/isn't always critical. My brain will jump from subject to subject. Why is the sky blue? to I need to make sure that I put in for a pay out on my vacation time so I can get a few bills paid off then SQUIRREL LOL So if I give my mind the mini vacation and allow it to just be at peace then I can tackle one thing at a time.

i tend towards random thinking :) i have the attention span of a toddler sometimes i found for me what works is incorporating that random thinking positively within the overthinking, if you have heard of lateral thinking then you will understand where i am coming from, one of the keys to finding a solution to a difficult problem is to introduce the random, so next time your in a situation don't focus :) in fact take your 'why is the sky blue' question and relate it even in the most nonsensical way to your perceived problem,play with it see how many ways you can relate the sky to the problem or the colour blue look for and recognise randomness as perhaps being an indicator of your intuition trying to show you something, the mind is a fascinating place and often works in subtle ways who knows- that colour blue may have held the key to looking at the situation in a new light which then leads to a solution you would never have arrived at using vertical thinking , this helps me on so many occasion, i would love to think it could help you, a vacation is always a good idea, and being away can help clear away the stresses we don't realise we live with, some stress is so insidious it is only the absence of it that makes us realise it was there in the first place, try to go to forest or water, the frequencies and ions all that good stuff :) i also recommend singing bowls very good frequency clearing tools, i wish for you inner peace and communication wiith your beautiful soul much respect

I will have to try that :) Very good advice. I have found with using the frequencies I do like the ones with the singing bowl the best.

Thank you ❤️

Overthinking and worrying has always been an issue for me, but I have gotten better thanks to practicing mindfulness. Lovely post x6B01B8CA-75AE-4649-8555-90F0AC6374BE.jpeg

You are so very welcome :) I love the saying, it fits :) I am so glad this is helping.

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71005.71
ETH 3788.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47