You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Universe Of Abstractions In A World Of Distractions

in #philosophy6 years ago

Mind blowing post dude.
The whole 'Big Bang' theory has always intrigued me as the date itself picked out by modern science is roughly 3 billion years shy of what the Maya believed it's age to be, however their explanation of the beginning is way more interesting.
It's difficult to imagine absolute nothingness so I don't buy the theory however what other theories are there other than a creator God? If that is true where did he come from? Who created him?
It's a chicken or the egg situation, I don't think we'll ever know that particular truth. If the comment makes no sense I apologise. I'm really stoned 😂😂😂
Seriously though mate, great post.

Sort:  

Hey @tremendospercy thanks for the support and kind words my friend, I'm really glad you enjoyed it! It's a really intriguing subject and like you say one we may never know the answer to. Well not in this lifetime anyway ;) and yes the Maya interpretation is certainly "way more interesting"!

I just feel the sheer randomness of the scientific explanation requires such a huge leap of faith. I've heard it explained as akin to a tornado destroying a town and then perfectly rebuilding it a few miles away.

Equally I just don't buy infinte possibilty and consciousness arising from nothing. I'm fully prepared to believe in God and I'll write about this some more, but equally the chicken and the egg is a good analogy, it's so difficult to comprehend inifinity but then again outside our narrow understandings of physics does time even exist? Or does all time exist at erm ... the same time? :D

You make perfect sense and I'm glad you are stoned reading it, great to have some food for thought in that mindframe lol Thanks again my friend!

I think it was James Perloff that wrote a book called 'Tornado in a Junkyard'.
It wasn't about the Universe per se, it was more about the Darwinism theory where he hypothesised the chances of that theory being true akin to a tornado blowing through a junkyard and leaving a fully built 747 in its wake! Great anology.

Yes you're entirely correct and I'm a huge fan of Perloff so I should have remembered :) Although he was talking about Darwinism you can kind of take a step back and view the analogy from the perspective of life arising from this moment of singularity. In doing this perhaps it then becomes akin to building two 747's :D .. Great comment dude, I knew if anyone remembered the quote it would be you. Hope you have a great weekend ahead of you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62996.10
ETH 3122.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88