Monogamy: An Impossible Concept (With My Personal Story)

in #philosophy7 years ago

I have always wanted to post this article, but due to previous circumstances, it did not seem appropriate. Now, finally I get to express a philosophy I have been fighting for ever since.



When I was a little girl, I thought that exclusive relationships were the only way to go. That was until I started seeing my parents fight and learning that each of them were already having side affairs. I was not mad at their choice. Maybe a bit shocked as most parents of the kids I played with in school seemed so affectionate of each other. Still, my mind was set to think that if not all people are bound to cheat, at least they are all instinctively to have thoughts of experiencing a different body other than the body of the partner they are committed to (okay, some just want others' attention, but that's too irrational and dramatic).

Now, I'm just going to tell you why and how monogamy entraps us to something that is unnatural of our bodies and minds--yes, it's psychological, biological, philosophical, anthropological, basically scientific.


Nature of men and women


Men used to be hunters back in the day. They liked the thrill of such experience and oh well, the collection. Women, on the other hand, happened to have been tasked in investing more time at home or for their offspring. Now, don't look at it in a feminist perspective as if I were suggesting here that those strict duties be maintained. The real deal here is that such history is merely responsible for the way we act now especially when it comes to dating and all those other types of affairs.

According to Charles Darwin's theory of sexual selection, it is then reasonable to say that the conventional relationships that usually lead to marriages and having children is prostitution. Why? It is because mothers are more inclined into taking care of the kids she has with her male partner which is then perceived as way for the father figure to keep working hard to provide a good life for the family while almost always failing to attend to more personal needs of the said woman of the household. Regardless of that fault, the woman stays because whether we admit it or not, it is beneficial for her to stay and be able to receive support for both her and her children rather than looking to fill those personal issues that do not really suggest any but of rationality--and we need this practical sense in order to survive in this world, don't we?

Back in the Native American society and Pre-Spanish Colonial living in the islands of the Philippines though, there was an equality in both genders when it comes to their mating choices. Both sexes were accepted to be polyamorous that it worked so well, they were still able to keep a family--of course not in the now commonly accepted sense. This worked because people were then into strong ties with people in their community that they shared everything, and yes, including sex because isn't it the most tempting and pleasurable to share?


"But we now live in a more civilized society!"


It's a common reaction I get when I tell people this. I remember, a couple of years ago when I was in a car with two of my best male friends heading to an event, we got to talking about how we want our relationships to be if we were to have one. My traditional friend said that he wanted to be with a girl who has not had much sexual partners in the past and is willing to get married and have kids. The other said, "why would you want to have someone who never had her share of fun just like you?"

My traditional friend replied, "I need someone who is never going to leave me." I pulled a WTF face on him to which the other guy reacted, "Now you tell us what you want. We want to hear what a girl would say about all this." I have never been into those formal relationships so I quickly answered, "I want a guy who will be there for me--a solid companion--who will also allow me to have other casual sexual affairs on the side."


By this time it was already my semi-conservative friend doing the WTF face. "That's not a relationship, that's friends with benefits!" Before I could even explain my choice, my other friend responded, "Wake up, in reality, people like us who enjoy casual affairs and even ghost people after we get what we want may be loyal and faithful mentally to a special someone but never physically." Then we high-fived and looked at our other friend who still could not get our point.

"I don't know, but you [me], will never get any guy of that sort especially that you're a woman.You won't get a loyal guy or that guy you prefer. You are a girl yet you enjoy pleasures of a man," my defeated friend said. He meant to be offensive, but I was never insulted by these remarks, so I told him this:

"We're Filipinos. We have a whole history of polyamory that is the reason why a lot of married couples in this society regardless of who they are remain unfaithful. They refuse to be honest about their natural urges and satisfy their individual desires secretly. In [my other friend] and I's preferred setup, we will never have to worry about betrayal because the options are out there to avoid it. I mean come on, it is betrayal that is actually the deal in side affairs, not the fact that there was a third party itself, right? Deep inside, you know you can't avoid cheating and that you would even rather do that than be open about it, so who do you think is down for a more complicated setup now?"


Philosophers in open relationship


If you are cultured enough when it comes to literature and philosophy, you have probably heard about Simone de Beauvoir and Jean-Paul Sartre. These philosophers were like the "it" couple of the the philosophy academe. They took the world by storm when they began to be known for promoting their ideals of existentialism and freedom.

The most interesting part about two intellectual rock stars being together was the fact that they lived by their philosophy of not compromising their freedom despite their relationship. They maintained that in order to not make the whole natural conflicting concept of love (I hate this word, it has become too sappy) ruin their fondness of each other's beautiful attributes and company, they should then allow each other to free and not think much of a "we" or "us".

I remember being in a forum for philosophy majors back in my former university called "Is Love Doomed?" where we discussed Sartre and De Beauvoir's relationship. I was with this hardcore Catholic and fellow philosophy major friend who repeatedly whispered how odd the whole setup was. Being fresh from breaking off a sickening common relationship, I knew better. I might have been a virgin at that time who had never even experienced the pleasure of sex to be be open minded enough but I knew damn well that I would also want that setup where I was also given the respect and freedom to have other affairs.



They chose to be in that kind of relationship because they did not want to build it based on bad faith. According to Sartre, bad faith is entrapping oneself to just a whole box of ideals and not allowing transcendence. Now in the context of relationships, bad faith would mean wanting to possess one another--a desire to control the other in exchange of that love. Obviously, these intellectuals knew the weight of being dictated, asked to unnecessarily change for someone, and having to cancel on things for the other. They did not want that and the nagging that might arise from it. Some say De Beauvoir was less in charge because she did not have as much affairs as Sartre but she had her freedom nevertheless, and she just chose not to use it. Hell, I'd use it--look at Sartre compared to De Beauvoir's looks! We talk about it like gossip in the field.

In that moment, I knew how I was really made to go for the same setup. If schedules do not allow me to be with my partner and I want to go to an island full of gorgeous men, I absolutely would want the freedom to interact with them in a flirty and intimate manner. I don't want to be wrapped around someone that leads to making him my life or my world--that's sick! I live for myself and my pleasures and I demand my partner to respect that. I also don't want to be the type with an expectation of how my partner should behave based on social norms which creates obsession over any person in that situation. I'd rather not expect him to act certain ways so that he would do the same and just allow us both to be free to do what we want and be away from standards, labels, and all those social expectations.


So about me


In the end of that debate in the car, it was not really about who won the argument but which setup actually made more sense to us. To my conventional friend, I think he still believes in his own preference which is good for him if he really sees it as the one that makes more sense. However, for me, I still go with my preference. I have experienced my friend's preferred setup but for some time and it was fine until you have to spend time by apart for career and perhaps individual growth reasons. Being away from each other surely feels sad but if you are as rational as me, you would not let that happen.

You have to keep your sense of self and keep doing what you love doing before the whole relationship took place. I don't believe one must do so much to adjust for a mutual understanding. The understanding itself is fine--there is care, comfort, respect, fun, happiness, and adventure. I have always wanted to suggest having outside non-serious affairs beginning from the fact that when I get invited to events I no longer get to be flirty because I had to be "faithful" which seriously felt like I was not being myself, but I did not know how to say it until it came from him recently. I told him I was hurt--but not in the way you think. I felt a little hurt more in my pride area that I did not just go for my instinct of telling him before so that we could have done it earlier which is better for some reason. It's no joke to suppress inner tension like that especially that we were used to act on it freely before meeting each other.

Sex is like any physical activity like sports. It could be as casual as that. It does not mean that when you keep a partner and go for other people, the partner is not enough in his/her being. It is more like a healthy lifestyle wherein you allow yourself to be free of sexual frustrations. Some might say, "why not just stick together all the time so you would not need others?" Life is too short to be strangled with having your whole world revolve around someone plus I don't think it has something to do with the presence of the partner--it is more like an urge to experience a different body or act on a curiosity especially on what it will feel like to do it with someone perhaps of foreign culture, character or looks. Besides, it's still good to have a constant companion to share special things with who also understands you don't want formal relationships and allow you to remain free to have outside affairs for a sort of hobby maybe. The extra affairs are not to be taken personally against each other.











img sources:

Sort:  

So, women like you do really exist. I thought you were extinct beside unicorns. Any way, it's each one's preference. Let them judge, they're not the ones feeding you. :)

Haha well every woman has it in her, it's just that it's up to her to explore the trigger and whether she would like to act on it or just suppress it. Well, we know damn well how even more outrageous this will sound like to the one who does the feeding though hahahaha

Trying to convert wife... taking long! LOL

HAHA that might be hard, but you can lay these facts for her when you discuss if it might help! haha. Anyway, given you a follow! Interesting posts

Great post, once again. Thank you 🙏🏻

When I was younger I thought monogamy is the only way, but now I had one divorce behind me and have changed my views on relationships quite drastically. First of all nobody should ever need a relationship. Also the belief that we need sex is somewhat distorted since the same energy can be released inwards through meditation.

Meditation... I came across that concept in Sex and the City where that female character in my 2 last gifs encountered an attractive man who was actually a celibate. They had a time together when the girl, Samantha went to see how he meditated with his hard on!

Sexually free, Samantha was shocked and couldn't help but even be more frustrated. I am very much a Samantha haha. It's just that I don't desire that energy. I desire a body on body interaction. But still intrigued about how meditation equals it like you said.

Haha, funny story.

Look into a concept of pulling up energy from your chakras to your brain and releasing it through the pineal gland to an internal orgasm, pure exstacy or kundalini. Whatever you wanna call it :D
I’m not saying not to have sex but I do think it has been pushed a bit too much, not to talk about the whole monogamy and romanticism game.

Haha I have heard about the chakras and the kundalini haha I'm pretty sure someone already once tried to talk me into this but well, I'm such a Samantha haha

Ah, I'm a huge fan of this post. I've been exploring poly for almost two years now and woooweee it's been quite the ride. As much as it's been one of the most intense experiences ever, I don't think I can ever go back.

There's this very clear sense of freedom and growth that you experience in these types of relationship dynamics, that just don't exist in monogamy. I know because I've had 3+ two year monogamous relationships and they all ended with a similar type of fizzle.

I don't think that poly is right for everyone, but it sure as hell is a way to grow. You are forced to confront issues of jealousy and loss on a constant basis, and that's a highly valuable growth mechanism right there. I believe that our culture at large could highly benefit from learning how to deal with these uncomfortable aspects of relating. However in highly structured relationships like monogamy, it's nearly impossible to explore these aspects sustainably.

I loved reading your story! Please share more! I'll usually share my own poly situations as they transpire. Really helps to cope when the shit gets real.

Thanks for sharing @thegiamarcos. I'd love to hear your thoughts about my recent post: These Three Words Will Instantly Change How You Perceive Your Life

I'm glad I met a fellow here who have the same views! Thanks for this wonderful insight. Happy to inspire people to be more free and avoid all those unnecessary drama in life that usually root from monogamy. I've given you a follow. will leave my comment on your post in a bit :)

Likewise :) So my partner is going to be on here soon starting a poly blog! We should definitely keep in touch - I've followed you as well. I want to make more poly connections as I'm sure there's more on here hiding in the woodworks ;-)

I like this little society we're building out here haha. Link me your partner's blog when it's up! Definitely gotta keep connections! ;)

Interesting point of view :)

thank you

I'm glad to see your post survived the fight

Thanks, I guess

You're so free! Thanks for sharing this :)

Freedom is the only way to overcome the struggles and dram in this life, my friend. You're welcome!

Excellent post on the issue! Acceptance of non-monogamy is going to be the next push after LGBTQ+ issues get settled. I think the sexual aspect of it is the most talked about because it's so antithetical to the current structure, and of course because sex sells, but there is something that the ideas of it can extend to people who aren't interested in having multiple partners. Somehow along the way, your romantic partner became expected to become your best friend, your lover, your business partner, and your caretaker. It's frankly insane we expect all of this from one person. We cut out having deeply intimate relationships with non-sexual partners (and this is doubly bad for guys, thanks toxic masculinity!) and overload our romantic ones with all of our baggage. This probably has something to do with, as you mentioned, the change from focusing on an entire village as a unit to the nuclear family as a unit.

At the end of the day, we can only benefit from maintaining as many meaningful relationships, whether those are sexual or non-sexual, as we can. By doing so we have a broad base to draw on when we need support, and a diversity of experiences to help us enjoy everything life can offer.

This is such a nice insight. It is true, many expect too much from their partner. They become an emotional dumpsite in the process somehow when they become receivers and tasked to do so much for the other. That's just toxic!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @thegiamarcos to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I really enjoyed this article!
I'm amazed by how you put yourself out there, sharing your thoughts on this matter. I personally think every relationship should be based in honesty, communication is the only way any relationship can work: no matter if a 3rd person is involved or if they decide to stay exclusive, and even if they decide so and then change their minds, everything should be spoken. A healthy relationship is based on communication and an open mind!

Exactly my point!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64725.57
ETH 3184.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54