You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When Concerning Steemit, I've Come To Realize ... I'm Too Old For This

in #philosophy8 years ago

I totally get where you are coming from but if people like you quit then it will make the situation worse.

So much for being a place to discuss anything openly. And yet, people here complain about Facebook and Reddit, yet I can mention Facebook all day on Reddit, and vice versa, and never have to worry that my comment will be hidden by a single individual.

Which is silly really. Those who talk about freedom from the state and so forth start acting like that very state when someone says something that "hurts" their feelings or disagrees with their point of view.

sports, guns, hunting, cars or anything that my generation considers to be laced with testosterone

Yes I'm surprised. I think I remember one car post. I don't remember very much mention at all of the olympics or any other sport. Gaming is probably the most surprising thing that is in very short supply. Also despite people's attempts to add some discussion I haven't seen very much about weight training or martial arts. Ditto for film and cinema.

I will be relinquishing my posting key access for this account and leave it to the younger generation of Tuck Fheman's,

I do hope you will reconsider. The place would not be the same without you. Also what will happen to the satirical comics? Please don't leave.

Sort:  

I checked hundreds of posts to make another edition of 'little baby dolphin'
(and your photo is in it, by the way)

I found 2 posts worth mentioning about sports, not 1 single car article, not 1 single hunting article, 1 gun related article and if there's something 'training' related it's yoga ...

@luminousvisions, I love what you're doing with little baby dolphin. You're rocking it. I would like to propose a section on "the 4 basic man groups hiding within the Steemit caves of obscurity" dedicated to @tuck-fheman. Please don't leave, @tuck-fheman. Keep calling us on our garbage and drawing comics and stuff. You would be missed.

well, I would if there were enough of them ...

I didn't mean to put it on you to seek out stuff that isn't here. The idea is that I think little dolphin will do well and that people will want to be featured. If people see a category where there is little competition or even nothing, they might start to generate it. I remove any pressure explicitly, though. You're doing a great job.

Thanks. Sorry I missed your post earlier but to rectify it I've given it a little boost.

thanks! that's fine ... there's so much being posted, I missed your post at first as well, it's only because I was looking for stunning photo's that I found it ;-)

I am also trying to be positive. Sincerely, I just don't know how long to do that for... I can keep playing along and hope. Or I can make my objections known and be vocal about them and act in a way that reflects them.

Do you think there's an interest in these "manly"posts, @luminousvisions? I hope so. People have to learn how to do basic things - no one is teaching them.

well, right now it seems there's not much demand for it, but that will change, right now it's mostly anarchists and artists ... not the general public, which is fine as they are the creators, but in order for steemit to be viable it will have to appeal to the broader audience and for that ... yes, I do think we need some more manly posts ...

There is a guy that made several posts about his self made knives, I hope you consider a knife a gun darling

There's definitely a growing sports movement here that a number of us are trying to help develop, but so far its primarily centered on daily fantasy sports. And I think as tuck said, people are likely worried about spending time writting for an audience that, may not exist (particularly amongst whales). That's obviously the big issue with the current steemit situation where people could feel limited to writing only about what they perceive as whale-friendly content. But I think with all the good work the curation groups are doing (and perhaps with some collective effort from members of the whale community to foster this side of steemit, if thats not happening already), things will likely improve in regards to the "man topics". Speaking of which, what does it mean if I only care about 1 of them?? *googles testosterone injections *

I actually wrote a post about anarchy and sports. If you want to know why it isn't really discussed on a platform like this, then you should read it and the comments. You'll get a good idea why.

How does staying help? It doesn't matter that he gets the support of the community. The support of the whales wins and no change has been talked about.... Period.

I've made suggestions.... And some have gained a lot of comments from regular folks. You can only really stay in so long...... I tried. Best people just start leaving.... Maybe THAT'S the message that is heard.

Edit: I will miss your presence as well Tuck..... Just agree with the reasons

Hopefully with more time it will improve.

Ugh..... I know. How long do we hang onto hope though? It's been a growing sense of frustration for awhile, and the next thing that comes us as a hard fork proposal.... Change in voting power.

Can't...... I just can't.

I think part of the problem is that things appear to move much more quickly in the crypto world so it gives the impression that things are progressing very slowly. Facebook took years to become decent and then a few more years to become complete crap. The point is Steemit is only 3 months old.

Well for starters we could wait until it is officially out of Beta!...

;)

Reponse to last response:
I know it is three months old. What is wrong though are things that every other site would have placed as a priority. Seeing an account like @msgivings..... Amongst MANY others..... Drivel constantly upvoted based on author and not content.

These are balances that can be addressed fairly easily, but what is being focused on.... Are changes to nothing that matters to a new user.

Give them time.... They HAVE time. It's the only game in town. What happens when they are not, and they're still tweaking voting?

Hey, I'm around if they get it together. i am just saying I am skeptical it will happen. I don't care how votes work, that could have never changed and people would be exactly as happy as they are today.

I'm not disagreeing with you I'm just trying to be positive.

We need safe spaces, period :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61249.08
ETH 3397.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51