You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Isn't the "social contract" a little bit overdue? And who agreed to it in the first place?

in #philosophy7 years ago

You know oddly enough I read what she said as more of a social justice contract than anything. The implication being that you have voluntarily waived (without your knowledge or consent) your freedoms so as to not offend her in any way, shape, or form.

That's how I took her pedestrian pontification.

If you re-read what you wrote about what she says, what I just said makes more sense. And sadly that is precisely what society is gearing towards...one where we give up our freedoms and rights in this nebulous "social contract" so that Sally Snowflake doesn't vet offended, triggered, or feels the need for a safe space.

We simply tiptoe quietly, walking on those eggshells so as to not set off any Snowflake Special Ordinance™. We all know if that ordinance goes off, there'll be no end to it and only the first few words will be intelligible with the remaining ones reaching fever pitch in rapid succession and they sound like a tea kettle.

I know I have neither signed nor consented to any social contract. I am who I am and I say what I say when I feel like saying it. If my exercising freedoms causes you distress, then you can feel free to flitter away to your safe space.

I will not silence or stifle myself to make someone else happy. That ain't how I was built.

Good article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.46
ETH 2409.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42