Isn't the "social contract" a little bit overdue? And who agreed to it in the first place?

I managed to get myself into a discussion with someone a while ago, and I decided to act somewhat "difficult". Most of the time I don't care to get into discussions with people. I usually save my enthusiasm for people who want to listen and learn. But sometimes I just go apeshit principled on their asses.

The person brought up the "social contract" as an argument.

" But, we have a social contract. You give up some of your rights so that someone else's rights are looked out for"

she said with an overbearing and angry voice.

woman-975339_1280.jpg

Say what? That was her argument. I told her;

" First of all, I never signed any social contract. I would never sign a contract that stupid and self destructive. Second, it doesn't make any sense. Why would it be moral for me to give up MY rights so that someone else can benefit from my loss of rights?"

A cup of hot coffee in my face later, at home, I started thinking about this "Social Contract" and how absurd it is. Politicians and parrots..I mean, people, throw it around like it's an argument. Like it's something that wins the discussion. But the social contract. Ah, but you see, we have a social contract. If you don't like it, leave.

Right..where would I leave? To another country with the same social contract? Which country doesn't have this "social contract"? Somalia? I think I'll stay here with the "social contract" and criticize it instead. Funny enough, some people will look at that answer and think they have won a prize or something.

"Ah! So you don't want to move to Somalia!? Why not? They have your beloved anarchy"

If you have to explain why Somalia is not anarchism (free market, voluntaryism, private property and people exercising the non-agression principle) to someone, then there is no hope.

Mogadishu_1_Somalia.jpg

 

So, the "social contract". What is it? Is it something more than just a phrase, like "who is John Galt"?

 

Actually it is

Internet tells me this;

" The/A social contract is an implicit agreement (implicit means understood, indirect) among the members of a society to cooperate for social benefits for example by sacrificing some individual freedom for state protection."

These theories became popular by Rousseau, Hobbes and Locke in the 16th and 17 century

It doesn't sound too bad. Even an anarchist or minarchist will accept a state that protects your freedom. However, I don't quite see why what we are sacrificing by having police, military and a legal system to protect our property rights? Some money perhaps? 2-5% tax? I'd be happy with that.

But the social contract today is much more than that. It's a constructed "contract" where we are forced to pay half our salary in taxes, and where an ever increasing number of people exploit the labour of others to sit on their asses. So lets take a look at some modern thoughts on the "social contract".

Theory of Justice (1971)

Building on the work of Immanuel Kant (the devil) John Rawls proposed a contractarian approach where rational people in a hypotethical original position. This idea is basically insanity. In short, original position is about people making choices about the basic structures of the society they want to live in by firstly deprive participants of information about their particular characteristics like ethnicity, social status, gender and crucially CONCEPTION OF GOOD.

Yes, this is just madness. Relativist madness.

Republicanism (1997)

Philip Pettit has argued, that the theory of a social contract, classically based on the consent of the governed, should be modified. Instead of arguing for explicit consent, which can always be manufactured, Pettit argues that the absence of an effective rebellion against it is a contracts only legitimacy.

 

I think we can draw a conclusion here.

Neither arguments are very good in my opinion. The arguments of Kant, Hobbes and Rousseau that we must sacrifice some personal freedom for the sake of others is altruist at best, but absurd at worst. Altruism is the most self destructive behavior a person can exercise , yet it has been hammered into our minds from when we were kids that the well being of others is more important than the well being of ourselves. This mindset leads to anxiety, depression and miserable lives.

The argument made by Pettit that unless we rebel against it, it is legit - is also absurd. If you are taken prisoner by a slave owner, it is OK as long as you don't rebel. And if you should rebel, you would risk death, prison or the loss of your family? Does that really make the contract OK? So just because people aren't breaking out into civil war, the "social contract" is legit?

The "social contract" is just as much a contract as you would have with Vito and Sal showing up at your shop and telling you that you either pay them each month or they will break your legs. Oh, unless you rebel against them! Only if you rebel against Vito and Sal the contract is illegit. No problem. Just throw a fist at Vito next time, and you'll show them what's up!

Clearly, we can conclude that there is no such thing as a "social contract". And also, I think the world is way overdue to thrown this so called "contract" away in the dustbin of history. And again..this is such an exciting time to be alive, because with blockchain technology and decentralization and people like everyone here on Steemit, either you are an anarchist or not - we are actually in the fast lane of making this happen. We are slowly (or quite fast) saying no to this "contract".

 
 

Odin approves of this message.png

Sort:  

One of the best articles I had ever seen on Steemit! That "social contract" does not explain at all the origin of the current State of Law, but what good is it to justify the interests of the State and the "market"! The philosophy of the Enlightenment is undoubtedly one of the human knowledge's greatest achievements; however, because of its republican nature, it needs some unfortunate inconsistencies like this for keep standing. You are right, before talking about an inexistente "social contract", Roseau should have wondered who, when and where agreed it. Our currently rights and duties are the products of our long economic, social and cultural history, not just of a "social contract (!)".
I love your posts. I'm following you now, and you got my upvote and resteem :D

Thank you for all the love and a great comment!

You're welcome! And please follow me back, I'd be very grateful for it.

Excellent article! If I am talking about my own self I would never sacrifice my own rights for anyone, some might call me selfish but that's how I am deal with it!

Thanks brother! Appreciate it. Rational selfishness is good :) Doesn't mean you're a bad guy. Quite the opposite. In order to save your friend next to you on an airplane, you need to put on your own oxygene mask first, before you help your friend who is panicking.

The problem is that a significant portion of the population generally requires the state to increase its size rather than reduce it, which occurs when people believe that health, housing or education are a right. That is, we can demand that the State reduce its size only if we are willing to give up the false rights that have been acquired.

I can't argue against that. And the longer we keep going at that, the more disservice we are doing to people. The longer we keep, and the bigger we grow the nanny state, the shittier most people will be at preserving their own lives. SOME people though will thrive. Those who take advantage of others, those who hoard wealth and those who are smarter. For them it will be easier with the rest of the population sedated. So the 1% is almost inevitable. It's not their fault that more and more people are walking around in life as cared for zombies, or maybe more like cows.

Take away those rights (health, housing and education) people would take much more responsibility - and MORE people would lead great lives.

Thanks for the great comment @vieira

that was my favorite article on steemit today. I am not sure by now if I agree fully but that's why it is a great post. You made me think. And it'll last for a while, I guess. Thank you. I definitely follow you.

Thanks a lot! You don't have to fully agree. Just the fact that you let yourself be challenged in the way you think is something to respect.

yeah, that's rare on the internet. And I even followed. Seems I don't know how to behave online. ;)

I am looking forward to read more challenging articles.

Yes, this is outrageous Internet-behavior. :)

You know oddly enough I read what she said as more of a social justice contract than anything. The implication being that you have voluntarily waived (without your knowledge or consent) your freedoms so as to not offend her in any way, shape, or form.

That's how I took her pedestrian pontification.

If you re-read what you wrote about what she says, what I just said makes more sense. And sadly that is precisely what society is gearing towards...one where we give up our freedoms and rights in this nebulous "social contract" so that Sally Snowflake doesn't vet offended, triggered, or feels the need for a safe space.

We simply tiptoe quietly, walking on those eggshells so as to not set off any Snowflake Special Ordinance™. We all know if that ordinance goes off, there'll be no end to it and only the first few words will be intelligible with the remaining ones reaching fever pitch in rapid succession and they sound like a tea kettle.

I know I have neither signed nor consented to any social contract. I am who I am and I say what I say when I feel like saying it. If my exercising freedoms causes you distress, then you can feel free to flitter away to your safe space.

I will not silence or stifle myself to make someone else happy. That ain't how I was built.

Good article.

I make my own social contract with the state right now: it states that I will not initiate force against the state and the state will not initiate force against me. Best thing about it is it's implicit. The state doesn't have to sign.

Haha. Good luck with that :)

Isn't it ironic how the social contract always appears out of nowhere when someone wants your shit? According to many, the social contract is only a valid argument when they are in charge. Just take a look at America today and see how the liberals' heads explode when Trump uses the executive power that they originally gave to Obama. Sad and funny at the same time.

@scandinavianlife. Great article. My issue with this so-called social contract is that it is so lop-sided. For example the whole idea of taxes. Not everyone is paying their fair share. Warren Buffet, has often said that his secretary pays more taxes than he does. In that regard, can this arrangement be called a social contract? I think not. This is merely a parasitic system that is shafting the little guy.

There are other examples I can give, but when you have a system where we are all not playing by the same rule I am not certain if we can call that a contact. A militarized police force that has been given the license to invade your property without a search warrant is not a social contract. It is sheer brutality, exacted by the powerful on the citizenry. I personally did not sign up for this. Most of us didn't. And while silent is consent, many of us were not at the table when many of these decisions were made.

Crony capitalism. Not good. Result of governments. :) Thanks for commenting!

I feel while you get a majority of idea, you miss a key point of the social contract theory as described by Hobbes and Rousseau. What is their conception of ultimate freedom? It is the state of nature. In this state, there are no property rights. People can do whatever they physically want to. If I'm stronger than you, than your property is now mine. That's ultimate freedom. You can kill me, and I can kill you. Force dominates and cooperation is optional.

The idea behind the social contract is to establish a intermediary party that the individuals have to follow in order to have some civil society. Even in your ideal society you need some intermediary principle or entity to enforce the rules. Just because the implementations to this point are mediocre, doe not invalidate the idea of the contract.

You agree to the contract in order to discourage some person down the street from walking into house, killing you in our sleep, and then taking all of your stuff. A social contract is not altruistic, it is practical and selfish. Although you sacrifice your ultimate freedom, you gain an entity that acknowledges your rights in the first place. Private property only exists without the social contract to the extent that you can defend it by force. The social contract serves as a means of agreement that using force when you please is not acceptable.

Even if you create a society where everyone lives in peace without government, the sovereign (intermediate entity) becomes the people. There is still a social contract there, whether you like it or not. You still follow and agree to some rules, right?

" even in your ideal society you need some intermediary principle or entity to enforce the rules.."

Yes. Voluntaryism and a government who's only job is to protect my property rights. My land, my things, my body.

For it to be a real social contract, it needs to be voluntary. Someone would have to go to my door and present an idea to me, and I would have to purchase that idea, and sign my name.

It is just about things being voluntary or not. Taxes are theft, because I never signed to pay them. If I had the choice I could have signed it..I don't know. Maybe? But most likely I would join another society with no redistribution of money. I would like someone to protect me and my property, so perhaps police and military is ncie to have. Other than that what use is the Government?

I follow and agree to certain rules if they match my principles - because to me there is good and evil. I also follow some other rules, but that's because I have to under the threat of a Gun. I don't believe in God, but I believe in good deeds and bad acts. I'm not a relativist. I follow my own morality and my own values. And there is some objectivity to that. No one has a value or morality that is " I try to kill as many people as possible, and at every chance I have I steal or rape" Those are not great ideals or values. They are objectively evil ideals.

Thanks for the comment man!

Very nice article @scandinavianlife ...upvoted...blessings

Thanks brother! And thanks for the blessings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36