You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2 Thought Experiments to Forever change the way you Look at the World + Philosophy Discussion

in #philosophy6 years ago

This is an informative and deep post leaving me much to think about. I have lived in a culture that spoke a different language of which I only picked up enough to "get by" in daily life but I learned that they handled things such as anger, along with many other things, in a different way. I benefited much from seeing things in another context due to my experience in another culture that spoke a different language.

Sort:  

The biggest thing is that learning another language isn't a process of translating. There are many words that cannot be even properly translated. My Japanese is pretty terrible. But by watching tons of anime I've picked up many things that I find to be pretty intuitive but feel unable to translate to another language.

Eg: Kawai or Moe doesn't really mean cute.
Otaku isn't some word for nerd.
Kami is a word used for God but omnipotence isn't taken seriously within the Japanese culture (although they love the Bible...... but kind of like the way people love Lord of the Rings)

And I'm just coming from the anime sub-culture.

You surely remember more of the Japanese language than I do. My remembrance is just a phrase or word here and there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34